Department of Architecture and Civil Engineering

Our people

For all admissions enquiries, please contact:

Email: admissions@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 3019

For all other Department enquiries, please contact:

Email: ace@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 5394

Head of Department

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Pete Walker
Professor of Innovative Construction Materials, Director of BRE Centre for Innovative Construction Materials (CICM); Head of Department 01225 38 6646 p.walker@bath.ac.uk

Academic and teaching staff

Name Title Phone Email  
Dr Richard Ball Senior Lecturer; Director of Studies for MSc Civil Engineering: Innovative Structural Materials 01225 38 6944 r.j.ball@bath.ac.uk  
Jayne Barlow Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a j.barlow@bath.ac.uk  
Nigel Bedford Teaching Fellow: Year 2 Architecture Co-ordinator 01225 38 5251 n.a.bedford@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Chris Blenkinsopp Lecturer in Water Engineering 01225 38 6715 c.blenkinsopp@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Kevin Briggs Lecturer 01225 38 6269 k.m.briggs@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Lee Bryant Prize Fellow in Water Engineering   l.bryant@bath.ac.uk  
Tim Burgess Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a t.burgess2@bath.ac.uk
 
Scott Cahill Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a s.cahill@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Wen-Shao Chang Lecturer 01225 38 4020 w.chang3@bath.ac.uk  
Anne Claxton Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 5251 a.e.claxton@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Peter Clegg Professor of Architecture  n/a p.a.clegg@bath.ac.uk  
Professor David Coley Professor of Low Carbon Design; Director of Research; Director of Energy and the Design of Enviroments (EDEn) 01225 38 5531 d.a.coley@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Alex Copping Senior Teaching Fellow; Director of Studies for the MSc in International Construction Management;
Director of DL Programmes, FED
01225 38 6816 a.g.a.copping@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Antony Darby Reader in Structural Engineering; Head of Civil Engineering group 01225 38 3182 a.p.darby@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Jiangtao Du Lecturer in Building Environmental Engineering 01225 38 6389 j.du@bath.ac.uk
 
Professor Stephen Emmitt Professor of Architecture; Director of Centre for Advanced Studies in Architecture (CASA) 01225 38 4722 s.emmitt@bath.ac.uk  
Elantha Evans Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a

e.evans@bath.ac.uk

 
Dr Mark Evernden Lecturer in Structures; Director of Studies for Civil Engineering undergraduate programmes 01225 38 6537 m.evernden@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Michael Forsyth Lecturer in Architectural Conservation; Director of Studies Conservation of Historic Buildings 01225 38 3016 m.forsyth@bath.ac.uk  
Martin Gledhill Year 4 Studio Leader and Co-ordinator; Senior Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 6649 m.l.gledhill@bath.ac.uk  
Simon Gould Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 5251 s.gould@bath.ac.uk  
Rob Gregory Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 5251 r.gregory@bath.ac.uk  
Dyfed Griffiths Professional Studies Adviser; Director of Studies for Part 3; Erasmus Co-ordinator; Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 3185 d.griffiths@bath.ac.uk  
Robert Grover Part-time teaching fellow    
Dr Marion Harney Lecturer in Conservation of Historic Gardens; Director of Studies for MSc Conservation of Historic Gardens 01225 38 3977 m.harney@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Richard Harris Professor of Timber Engineering; Civil Engineering Placements Officer; Year 4 Civil Engineering Tutor 01225 38 3514 r.harris@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Vaughan Hart Professor of Architecture 01225 38 6361 v.hart@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Carolyn Hayles Lecturer in Sustainable Construction 01225 38 3412 c.s.hayles@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Andrew Heath Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering; Year 2 Civil Engineering Tutor; Associate Dean for Learning and Teaching (Faculty of Engineering and Design) 01225 38 6937 a.heath@bath.ac.uk  
Jo Hibbert Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a j.hibbert@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Juliana Calabria Holley Lecturer in Architecture 01225 38 3412 j.c.holley@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Tim Ibell Professor of Civil Engineering, Faculty Associate Dean for Research 01225 38 6365 t.j.ibell@bath.ac.uk  
Julia Kashdan-Brown Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 5251  
Dr Tristan Kershaw Lecturer in low-carbon design 01225 38 6389  
Dr Thomas Kjeldsen Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering 01225 38 6298 t.r.kjeldsen@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Mike Lawrence Lecturer in low-carbon design; Director of the Building Research Park 01225 38 5504 r.m.h.lawrence@bath.ac.uk  
Toby Lewis Teaching Fellow in Architecture; Year 5 MArch studio tutor 01225 38 5251 t.lewis@bath.ac.uk  
Frank Lyons Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a f.a.lyons@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Stephen Lo Senior Lecturer in Sustainable Environmental Engineering; Director of Studies for MSc Facade Engineering 01225 38 6941 s.n.g.lo@bath.ac.uk  
Hugo Marrack Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a

h.marrack@bath.ac.uk

 
Dr Paul McCombie Senior Lecturer in Geotechnical Engineering; Deputy Head of Department; Admissions Tutor for Civil Engineering 01225 38 6629 p.f.mccombie@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Nick McCullen Lecturer in Low Carbon Design 01225 38 4789 n.j.mccullen@bath.ac.uk  
Rob Mitchell Teaching Fellow in Architecture 01225 38 5251 r.mitchell@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Sukumar Natarajan Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Environmental Design; Director of Studies for MSc Architectural Engineering: Environmental Design 01225 38 6358 s.natarajan@bath.ac.uk  
Dr John Orr Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Civil Engineering 01225 38 5096 j.j.orr@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Kevin Paine Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering; Research Ethics rep; Deputy Director of BRE Centre for Innovative Construction Materials (CICM); Examinations Officer 01225 38 6886 k.paine@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Robert Proctor Senior Lecturer in Architectural History and Theory 01225 38 6389 r.proctor@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Paul Richens Professor of Architectural Computing 01225 38 5905 p.n.richens@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Andrew Shea Lecturer in Building Physics; Year 1 Civil Engineering tutor 01225 38 6158 a.shea@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Paul Shepherd Lecturer in Digital Architectonics; Director of Studies for MPhil Digital Architectonics; Outreach and Widening Participation Representative 01225 38 4406 p.shepherd@bath.ac.uk  
Dominic Taylor Teaching Fellow in Architecture; Year 2 Architecture Studio Leader 01225 38 5051 d.taylor2@bath.ac.uk  
Mike Tonkin Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a m.tonkin@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Danielle Wain Lecturer (Assistant Professor) in Water Quality Engineering; Department Equality Co-ordinator  01225 38 6269 d.j.wain@bath.ac.uk  
Mark Watkins Teaching Fellow   m.watkins@bath.ac.uk  
Matthew Wickens Director of Studies for BSc Architecture; Year 1 Architecture Studio Leader and Co-ordinator 01225 38 6748 m.r.wickens@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Chris Williams Senior Lecturer in Civil Engineering 01225 38 6818 c.j.k.williams@bath.ac.uk  
Mark Wilson Jones Senior Lecturer in Architecture; Postgraduate Director of Studies 01225 38 3351 m.w.jones@bath.ac.uk  
Daniel Wong Year 3 Studio Leader and Coordinator; Admissions and Fair Access Tutor for BSc Architecture; BSc Architecture Mentoring Co-ordinator 01225 38 3254 d.j.wong@bath.ac.uk  
Mark Wray Teaching Fellow in Architecture n/a m.wray@bath.ac.uk  
Professor Alex Wright Professor of Architectural Design; Head of Architecture 01225 38 6604 a.w.wright@bath.ac.uk  
Dr Jun Zang Reader in Civil Engineering Hydraulics; Year 3 Civil Engineering Tutor; Director of Research Unit for Water, Environment and Infrastructure Resilience (WEIR) 01225 38 4315 j.zang@bath.ac.uk  

Research staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dr Michael Barclay Research Associate 01225 38 5362 m.barclay@bath.ac.uk
Dr Feng Gao Research Officer 01225 38 5206 f.gao@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sotirios Grammatikos Research Associate 07796 09 6750 s.grammatikos@bath.ac.uk
Shuna Griffin Research Project Coordinator 01225 38 5109
Dr Eshrar Latif Research Officer 01225 38 5362 e.latif@bath.ac.uk
Dr Tom Lovett Research Officer 01225 38 6358 t.r.lovett@bath.ac.uk
Dr Daniel Maskell Research Associate 01225 38 4472 d.maskell@bath.ac.uk
Giovanni Luca Pesce (Gianluca) Research Associate 01225 38 5943 g.l.a.pesce@bath.ac.uk
Alfonso Ramallo González Research Officer 01225 38 5904 a.p.ramallo-gonzalez@bath.ac.uk
Thomas Reynolds Research Associate 07983 390024 tpsr20@bath.ac.uk
Fabio Santomauro Research Officer 01225 38 6871 fs315@bath.ac.uk
Dr Liang Sun Research Officer 01225 38 5206 l.sun@bath.ac.uk
Abbas Tajaddini Research Assistant 01225 38 5251 a.tajaddini@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Thomson Research Associate 01225 38 6389 a.j.thomson@bath.ac.uk
Eve Walkden project Manager (HIVE) 01225 38 6749 e.a.walkden@bath.ac.uk

Visiting staff

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Robert Aish Visiting Professor n/a n/a
Professor Geoffrey Allen Visiting Professor n/a g.c.allen@bristol.ac.uk
Professor Peter Bonfield Visiting Professor n/a n/a
Professor Steve Denton Visiting Professor n/a dentons@pbworld.com
Professor Michael Dickson Visiting Professor  n/a michael.dickson@burohappold.com
Professor Max Fordham Visiting Professor in Building Environmental Design  n/a s.m.fordham@@bath.ac.uk
Professor Bill Gething Visiting Professor in Architecture  n/a w.m.gething@bath.ac.uk
Professor Peter Hicks Visiting Professor  n/a hicks@napoleon.org
Professor Doug King Royal Academy of Engineering Visiting Professor in Building Engineering Physics 01225 38 5251 d.a.king@bath.ac.uk
Dr Rajnish Kurchania Senior Visiting Research Fellow n/a rkurchania@gmail.com
Dr Graham Ormondroyd Senior Visiting Research Fellow n/a go263@bath.ac.uk
Joseph Robson Visiting Lecturer in Architecture 01225 38 6702 Joseph@AVRLondon.com
Professor Robert Tavernor Visiting Professor in Architecture n/a n/a
Dr Mike Wells Visiting Research Fellow in Landscape, Ecology and Sustainability  n/a m.j.wells@bath.ac.uk
Tim Yates Visiting Research Fellow  n/a t.j.yates@bath.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Mike Barnes Emeritus Professor of Civil Engineering  n/a m.r.barnes@bath.ac.uk

Department Office

 Name                     
Title                                             
Phone Email
 Claire Hogg          Department Co-ordinator      01225 38 5394 c.hogg@bath.ac.uk
 Emma Cox Department Secretary 01225 38 4495 e.cox@bath.ac.uk

Technical and Support Staff

Name      Title Phone Email

William Bazely                

Laboratory Technician 01225 38 5144  w.d.bazeley@bath.ac.uk

Robert Dyer                    

MSL Technician 01225 38 5144             r.l.dyer@bath.ac.uk

Walter Guy                   

Technician 01225 38 5307      w.guy@bath.ac.uk

David Arino Montoya      

Technician                                                 01225 38 5144           d.arino.montoya@bath.ac.uk

Graham Mott

Technical Manager 01225 38 6297 g.m.mott@bath.ac.uk

Neil Price

Technician 01225 38 5144 n.price@bath.ac.uk

Glen Stewart

Laboratory Support Technician n/a g.stewart@bath.ac.uk

Dr Nigel Treweeke

Computing Services Supporter 01225 38 4421 n.treweeke@bath.ac.uk

David Williams

Laboratory 01225 38 5144 d.l.williams@bath.ac.uk