University Teaching Awards
Student Prizes

Ede & Ravenscroft Prize

The Ede and Ravenscroft Prize is awarded annually on behalf of Senate by the Ede and Ravenscroft Prize Committee to a postgraduate research student on the basis of a high standard of achievement.

The winner of the 2011 prize is:

Miss Tatiana Kim, Department of Mathematical Sciences, for her research:

Danger: high-frequency!

Tobias Warnecke

Tatiana Kim, the winner of the Ede and Ravenscroft Prize 2011, with the Ede and Ravenscroft Prize Committee

(Professors Guy McCusker, Jane Millar and Tim Ibell)

Tatiana's research is supervised by Professors Ivan Graham and Valery Smyshlyaev.

About the other finalists:

Past Winners

Year Name Department Subject
2010 Tobias Warnecke Biology & Biochemistry

Colonel Mustard, with the candlestick,... in the loft conversion??!! Redrawing the board of genetic Cluedo: How mutations cause harm in unexpected places.

2009 Mr James Stone Physics

Blue wavelength enhanced supercontinuum generation “Getting the blues”

2008 Mr Shifaan Thowfeequ Biology & Biochemistry Towards a Novel Therapy for Diabetes: A Bio-alchemist's approach
2007 Miss J Parmley Biology & Biochemistry Splicing and the Evolution of Mammalian Genes
2006 Miss H Shearer Chemical Engineering Tissue Engineering for Bone Repair: A Four Dimensional Challenge
2005 Ms K Coopman Pharmacy & Pharmacology Exploring a Role for Cannabis Products in Inflammation
2004 Ms A Dowling Biology & Biochemistry The insecticidal toxin Makes caterpillars floppy (Mcf) promotes apoptosis in mammalian cells
2003 Ms A O Urrutia Biology & Biochemistry Human Genome Organisation: the fine tuning for transcription
2002 Mr A Parfitt Mechanical Engineering Adaptive camouflage based upon biological principles
2001 Ms S Iyer Biology & Biochemistry Structure and function of the Placenta growth factor
2000 Mr E B Mallon Biology & Biochemistry Decision-making in colonies of the ant Leptothorax albipennis
1999 Mrs C Edmunds Pharmacy & Pharmacology T lymphocyte activation within the immune system
1998 Mr N G C Smith Biology & Biochemistry The costs and consequences of gene copy number variation
1997 Mr S Serkov Mathematical Sciences (details not available)
1996 Mr J D Schmitt Biology & Biochemistry The design and synthesis of novel synthetic trans membrane peptides
1995 Miss E C M Crooks Mathematical Sciences Reaction diffusion systems
1994 Mr T J Gosling Mathematical Sciences Modelling dislocations in strained-layer devices
1993 No award
1992 Mr W J Crowther Mechanical Engineering Aircraft Yaw Control at High Angle of Attack by Tangential Forebody Blowing
1991 Mr I W Davies Chemistry New Methodology for Asymmetric Synthesis

Prize Committee

The membership of the Prize Committee for 2011 was:

The Prize Committee considered eight nominations, and five finalists were invited to give a short presentation of their research to the Prize Committee and an audience from the academic community. In coming to a recommendation for the prize winner, both the documentary evidence and the presentation was considered by the Prize Committee.