Department of Biology & Biochemistry

biology_960_149

Staff and contacts

Department of Biology & Biochemistry
University of Bath
Claverton Down
Bath BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
tel: +44 (0)1225 386407
fax:+44 (0)1225 386779
email: bio@lists.bath.ac.uk

Admissions enquiries

Undergraduate: bioapplicants@bath.ac.uk
Postgraduate taught: biosci-pgt@bath.ac.uk
Postgraduate research: biosci-research@bath.ac.uk
 

Academic staff

Scott, Prof Rod J - Head of Department - Professor of Plant Molecular Biology - Research profile
R.J.Scott@bath.ac.uk - tel +44 (0)1225 38 3136 - 4 South 0.01

Tosh, Prof David - Deputy Head of Department - Professor of Stem Cell and Regenerative Biology - Research profile
D.Tosh@bath.ac.uk - tel +44 (0)1225 386532 - 4 South 0.66

Acharya, Prof K Ravi - Professor of Structural Biology - Research profile
K.R.Acharya@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6238 - 4 South 0.29

Bagby, Dr Stefan - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
S.Bagby@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6436 - 4 South 0.28

Beeching, Dr John - Reader and Admissions Tutor - Research profile
J.R.Beeching@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3572 - 4 South 1.11

Brown, Prof David - Professor of Biochemistry - Research profile
D.R.Brown@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3133 - 4 South 1.46

Caunt, Dr Jim - Lecturer - Research profile
C.Caunt@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5049 - 4 South 1.42

Cevik, Dr Volkan - Lecturer - Research profile
v.cevik@bath.ac.uk  - 4 South 1.03

Chalmers, Dr Andrew - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
a.chalmers@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5054 - 4 South 0.44a

Cooper, Dr Richard M - Reader - Research profile
R.M.Cooper@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3051 - 4 South 1.53

Corradi, Dr Hazel - Senior Teaching Fellow 
H.R.Evans@bath.ac.uk
- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4829 - 4 South 0.11

Crennell, Dr Susan - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
S.J.Crennell@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4302 - 4 South 0.26

Danson, Prof Michael J - Professor of Biochemistry- Research profile
M.J.Danson@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6509 - 4 South 1.35

Diezmann, Dr Stephanie - Lecturer - Research profile
s.diezmann@bath.ac.uk -  tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6036 - 4 South 1.44A

Doughty, Dr James - Lecturer/Director of Postgraduate Studies, Research - Research profile
J.Doughty@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3485 - 3 South 1.15

Elsen, Prof Jean van den - Professor - Research profile
J.M.H.V.Elsen@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3639 - 4 South 0.26a

Feeney, Dr Morgan - Teaching Fellow 
m.a.feeney@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4829 - 4 South 0.11

Feil, Prof Ed - Professor of Microbial Evolution - Research profile
E.Feil@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3021 - 3 South 0.27

Field, Dr Daniel - Prize Fellow - Research profile
D.j.Field@bath.ac.uk -  4 South 0.42

Gebhard, Dr Susanne - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
S.Gebhard@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6421 - 4 South 0.24

Hejmadi, Dr Momna - Senior Teaching Fellow/Director of Studies for MSc in Industrial Biotechnology & Enterprise - Research profile
M.V.Hejmadi@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3129 - 4 South 0.48

Henk, Dr Daniel - Lecturer - Research profile
d.a.henk@bath.ac.uk - 4 South 1.08

Holman, Prof Geoff D - Professor of Cell Biology- Research profile
g.d.holman@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6874 - 4 South 1.32

Hooley, Dr Richard - Reader - Research profile
R.A.Hooley@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 6410 - 4 South 0.14

Hurst, Prof Laurence D - Professor of Evolutionary Genetics - Research profile
l.d.hurst@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6424 - 4 South 0.12

Hussain, Dr Shobbir - Lecturer - Research profile
s.hussain@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 6293 - 4 South 1.32

Jeffries, Dr Alex - Senior Teaching Fellow/ Admissions Tutor Biomedical Sciences - Research profile
A.C.Jeffries@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6263 - 4 South 1.54

Kelsh, Prof Robert N - Professor of Stem Cell and Developmental Genetics - Research profile
R.N.Kelsh@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3828 - 4 South 0.63

Kover, Dr Paula - Reader - Research profile
P.X.Kover@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5059 - 3 South 1.18

Leak, Prof David - Professor of Metabolic Engineering - Research Profile
d.j.leak@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4309 - 4 South 1.34

Licchesi, Julien - Lecturer in Cellular Biochemistry - Research Profile
j.licchesi@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6287 - 4 South 0.46

Longrich, Dr Nick - Senior lecturer  - Research Profile
n.r.longrich@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6261 - 4 South 1.12

Martinez-Urtaza, Dr Jaime - Reader - Research Profile
j.l.martinez-urtaza@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4292 - 3 South 0.28

Mason, Dr Jody - Senior Lecturer - Research Profile
j.mason@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0) 1225 386867 - 4 South 1.44

Munoz-Descalzo, Dr Silvia - Lecturer - Research profile
s.munoz-descalzo@bath.ac.uk - 4 South 1.49

Murrell, Dr Adele - Reader - Research profile
a.m.murrell@bath.ac.uk - tel:+44 (0)1225 383583 - 4 South 0.56

O'Connell, Dr Mark - Teaching Fellow in Biodiversity
m.j.o'connell@bath.ac.uk

Perry, Dr Tony - Reader - Research profile
a.c.f.perry@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6936 - 3 South 0.24

Priest, Dr Nick - Lecturer - Research profile
- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6401 - 4 South 1.05

Preston, Dr Andrew - Reader - Research profile
a.preston@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6318 - 3 South 1.16

Pudney, Dr Chris - Lecturer - Research profile
c.r.pudney@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5049 - 4 South 1.30

Sheppard, Prof Samuel - Professor - Research profile
s.k.sheppard@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5046 - 4 South 0.39c

Stewart-Cox, Dr Joanne - Teaching Fellow 
j.e.stewart-cox@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4829 - 4 South 0.11

Subramanian, Dr Vasanta - Reader - Research profile
V.S.Subramanian@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6315 - 4 South 0.67

Székely, Prof Tamás -Professor of Biodiversity- Research profile
T.Szekely@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3676 - 4 South 0.10

Taylor, Dr Tiffany - Royal Society Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow - Research profile
T.B.Taylor@bath.ac.uk  - 3 South 1.01

Todd, Dr Christopher M - Director of Undergraduate Teaching & Admissions Tutor - Research profile
C.M.Todd@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3134 - 4 South 0.15

Turner, Dr Leslie - Lecturer  - Research profile
L.M.Turner@bath.ac.uk - 4 South 1.03

Urrutia Odabachian, Dr Araxi - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
A.Urrutia@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3011 or 3414 - 4 South 1.09 / 4 South 1.29

Vance, Dr Keith - Lecturer - Research profile
k.w.vance@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5106 - 4 South 0.60a

Ward, Prof Andrew - Professor - Research profile
A.Ward@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6914 - 4 South 0.64

Whitley, Dr Paul R - Senior Lecturer - Research profile
P.R.Whitley@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4278 - 4 South 1.40

Williams, Dr Rob J - Reader - Research profile
R.J.Williams@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6553 - 4 South 0.45

Wills, Prof  Matthew A - Professor of Evolutionary Palaeobiology - Research profile
M.A.Wills@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3504 - 4 South 1.06

Wolf, Prof Jason B - Professor of Evolutionary Genetics - Research profile
J.B.Wolf@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5012 - 4 South 0.14

Wonnacott, Prof Sue - Professor of Neuroscience, Associate Dean - Research profile
S.Wonnacott@bath.ac.uk - 4 South 0.44

Emeritus professors

Reynolds, Prof Stuart E - Professor Emeritus - Research profile
S.E.Reynolds@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44(0)1225 38 6407

Slack, Prof Jonathan M.W - Professor Emeritus - Research profile
j.m.w.slack@bath.ac.uk

Tickle, Prof Cheryll (FRS) -  Professor Emeritus - Research profile
C.A.Tickle@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5015 - 4 South 0.56

Visiting academic staff

Bowen, Dr Rebecca - Visiting Lecturer

De Marco, Prof Ricardo - Visiting Lecturer
rdm45@bath.ac.uk

Furutani-Seiki, Dr Makoto - Visiting Academic
m.furutani-seiki@bath.ac.uk

Nematollahi, Dr Mohammad Ali - Visiting Lecturer

Upadhyay, Dr Abhishek - Visiting Research Fellow
a.upadhyay@bath.ac.uk 

Welham, Professor Melanie - Visiting Professor - Research profile
m.j.welham@bath.ac.uk

Administration

Attenburrow, Rachel - Undergraduate Administrator
R.J.Attenburrow@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5425 - 4 South 0.03

Buckley, Teresa - Undergraduate Programmes Officer
T.P.Buckley@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3341 - 4 South 0.03

Edwards, Helen - Faculty Placements Administrator
H.C.Edwards@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6240 - Wessex House 1.12

Franklin, Anna -  Department Coordinator
a.franklin@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5864 - 4 South 0.02

Knight, Becca - Department Coordinator
R.Knight@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6438 - 4 South 0.02

Reeves, Esther - Faculty Placements Officer
E.Reeves@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6240 - Wessex House 1.12

Shaw, Beccy - Undergraduate Administrative Assistant
R.Shaw@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6407 - 4 South 0.03

 

Technical staff

Apark, Christopher - Technician
C.J.Apark@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5548 - 4 South 0.68

Basterfield, Ewan - Research Coordinator
E.C.Basterfield@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3299 - 3 South 1.01

Burke, Zoe - Teaching Coordinator
 Z.D.Burke@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3437 - 3 South 1.01

Byers, Joshua - Laboratory Assistant
j.d.byers@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Catalan, Sandra - Teaching and Research Support Technician
S.Catalan@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Chapman, Lesley - Purchasing Technician
L.Chapman@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6514 - 3 South 0.12

Clayton, Robert - Teaching and Research Technician
r.j.clayton@bath.ac.uk
-tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Cooper, Colin - Department Instrument Technician
C.Cooper@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6557 - 3 South 0.13

Cox, Wayne - Laboratory Assistant
w.l.cox@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Crichton, Rosemary - Laboratory Technician
S.R.Crichton@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Croker, Karen - Technical Manager
K.Croker@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 3299 - 4 South 1.21d

Fenton, Freya - Laboratory Assistant
f.c.fenton@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Ferguson, Ross- Teaching Laboratory Technician
R.Ferguson@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Mellors, Anna - Teaching Laboratory Technician
A.M.Mellors@bath.ac.uk -tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

O'Hara, Thomas - Laboratory Assistant
t.e.o'hara@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Rodrigues, David - Laboratory Technician
D.Rodrigues@bath.ac.uk- tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 or 5503

Shedden, Marc - Aquarium Technician
M.Shedden@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4712 - 4 South 0.16c

Soulsby, Claire - Laboratory Technician
C.Soulsby@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Squire, Richard - Laboratory Assistant
r.a.squire@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Todd, Alex - Laboratory Assistant
a.j.todd@bath.ac.uk  - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5901 - 4 South 1.21

Vennard, Chris - Technician
C.T.Vennard@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5916 - 4 South 1.52c

White, Martin - Senior Purchasing Technician
M.J.White@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6514 - 3 South 0.12

Williamson, Carolyn - Technician
C.E.Williamson@bath.ac.uk - tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4304 - 4 South 1.33

Research staff

Alaalm, Dr Leenah - Research Associate l.alaalm@bath.ac.uk

Asami, Dr Maki - Research Associate   m.asami@bath.ac.uk

Back, Dr Catherine - Research Associate  c.r.back@bath.ac.uk

Bayliss, Dr Sion - Research Associate s.bayliss@bath.ac.uk

Betteridge, Dr Zoe - Research Fellow  z.e.betteridge@bath.ac.uk

Carter, Dr Jean-Michel - Research Associate j-m.carter@bath.ac.uk

Cashman, Dr John - Research Technician j.s.cashman@bath.ac.uk

Castillo Morales, Dr Atahualpa - Research Associate a.castillo.morales@bath.ac.uk

Covington, Dr Kirstin - Network Manager   k.covington@bath.ac.uk

Cozier, Dr Gyles- Research Associate - g.e.cozier@bath.ac.uk

Falush, Dr Daniel - Research Fellow d.p.falush@bath.ac.uk

Gibbon, Dr Marjorie - Research Associate m.j.gibbon@bath.ac.uk

Gore-lloyd, Dr Deborah - Research Associate d.l.gore-lloyd@bath.ac.uk

Ibenegbu, Dr Chris - Research Officer   c.c.ibenegbu@bath.ac.uk

Iyer, Dr Shalini - Research Officer   s.iyer@bath.ac.uk

Kaloudis, Dr Dimitrios - Research Associate d.kaloudis@bath.ac.uk

Kendrick, Mr Emanuele - Research Associate e.kendrick@bath.ac.uk

Koh, Dr Alan - Research Associate s.c.a.koh@bath.ac.uk

Koumanov, Dr Francoise - Research Officer   f.koumanov@bath.ac.uk

Lilao, Mr Joaquin - Technician j.g.lilao@bath.ac.uk

MacArthur, Dr Iain - Research Associate i.macarthur@bath.ac.uk

Meric, Dr Guillaume - Research Fellow g.meric@bath.ac.uk

Moorwood, Dr Kim - Research Officer   k.jones@bath.ac.uk

Mordstein, Dr Christine - Research Associate c.mordstein@bath.ac.uk

Muhlhausen, Dr Stefanie - Research Associate s.muehlhausen@bath.ac.uk

Munir, Dr Omar Kassaar - Research Associate o.munir@bath.ac.uk

Pascoe, Dr Ben - Research Fellow b.pascoe@bath.ac.uk

Pisignano, Dr Giuseppina - Research Associate g.pisignano@bath.ac.uk

Posner, Dr Mareike - Research Officer   m.g.posner@bath.ac.uk

Qi, Dr Baoxiu - Research Officer   b.qi@bath.ac.uk

Sanders, Dr Heather -  Research Officer   h.sanders@bath.ac.uk

Shapiro, Mr Michael - Research Associate m.d.shapiro@bath.ac.uk

Styles, Mr Matthew - Research Associate m.styles@bath.ac.uk

Suzuki, Dr Toru - Research Officer   t.suzuki@bath.ac.uk

Varenko, Mrs Valentyna - Research Technician  v.varenko@bath.ac.uk

Wade, Dr Yana - Marie Curie Fellow  y.wade@bath.ac.uk

Wood, Dr Laura - Research Associate l.wood@bath.ac.uk