Department of Chemical Engineering

Our people

For all admissions enquiries, please contact:

Email: admissions@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 3019

For all other Department enquiries, please contact:

Email: chem-eng@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 6338

Head of Department

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Tim Mays Head of Department 01225 38 6528 t.j.mays@bath.ac.uk

Academic and teaching staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dr Tom Arnot Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Senior Tutor, Student Support Tutor 01225 38 6707 t.c.arnot@bath.ac.uk
Dr Serpil Awdry Part-time Lecturer in Chemical Engineering and Research Officer 01225 38 3957 s.awdry@bath.ac.uk
Dr Michael Bird
Senior Lecturer in Biochemical Engineering 01225 38 6336 m.r.bird@bath.ac.uk
Dr John Chew
Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Director of Learning & Teaching 01225 38 6132 y.m.chew@bath.ac.uk
Dr Chris Chuck Reader in Chemical Engineering, Undergraduate Admissions Tutor 01225 38 3537 c.chuck@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mirella Di Lorenzo
Senior Lecturer in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Director of Research Postgraduate Studies 01225 38 5574 m.di.lorenzo@bath.ac.uk
Professor Tina Düren Professor in Chemical Engineering, Deputy Head of Department, Research Project Co-ordinator 01225 38 6349 t.duren@bath.ac.uk
Dr Marianne Ellis
Senior Lecturer in Biochemical Engineering, Associate Dean (Learning & Teaching) 01225 38 4484 m.j.ellis@bath.ac.uk
Dr Emma Emanuelsson Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Assessments Tutor 01225 38 6549 e.a.emanuelsson-patterson@bath.ac.uk
Dr Salvador Eslava Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Department Equalities & Diversity rep 01225 38 4614 s.eslava@bath.ac.uk
Dr Carmelo Herdes Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Information Services Co-ordinator 01225 38 5857 c.e.herdes.moreno@bath.ac.uk
Dr Alf Hill Lecturer in Chemical Engineering 01225 38 6286 a.k.hill@bath.ac.uk
Professor Jan Hofman Professor and Chair of Water Science and Engineering 01225 38 3555 j.a.h.hofman@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ana Lanham Lecturer in Water Science & Engineering 01225 38 4544 a.lanham@bath.ac.uk
Dr Matthew Lennox Lecturer in Chemical Engineering 01225 384742 m.j.lennox@bath.ac.uk
Dr Dmitry Lukyanov Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Research Project Coordinator 01225 38 3329 d.b.lukyanov@bath.ac.uk
Professor Davide Mattia Professor in Chemical Engineering, Director of Research, Department Ethics Officer 01225 38 3961 d.mattia@bath.ac.uk
Dr Caroline McFarlane Teaching Fellow, Director of Taught Postgraduate Studies 01225 38 5807 c.mcfarlane@bath.ac.uk
Dr Darrell Alec Patterson Senior Lecturer in Chemical Engineering    
Professor Semali Perera
Professor of Chemical Engineering, Knowledge Transfer Champion 01225 38 6584 s.perera@bath.ac.uk
Dr Benedek Plosz Reader in Chemical Engineering 01225 38 5505 b.g.plosz@bath.ac.uk
Dr Pawel Plucinski
Reader in Chemical Engineering, Visiting Students & Overseas Project Co-ordinator 01225 38 6961 p.plucinski@bath.ac.uk
Dr Nuno Reis Reader in Chemical Engineering 01225 38 3369 n.m.reis@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sheila Samsatli 50th Anniversary Prize Fellow 01225 38 4799 s.m.c.samsatli@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ram Sharma Lecturer in Chemical Engineering, Director of Undergraduate Studies 01225 38 4469 r.sharma@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jannis Wenk Lecturer in Water Science and Engineering, Student Mobility Tutor 01225 38 3246 j.h.wenk@bath.ac.uk

Research staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dr Arsalan Ashraf Research Associate   m.a.ashraf@bath.ac.uk
Dr Antoine Buchard Whorrod Research Fellow (Chemistry) 01225 38 6122 a.buchard@bath.ac.uk
Dr Olivier Camus Research Associate 01225 38 4935 o.camus@bath.ac.uk
Dr Adrien Dartiguelongue Research Associate   a.c.y.dartiguelongue@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ulrich Hintermair Whorrod Research Fellow (Chemistry) 01225 38 6682 u.hintermair@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sameer Khare Research Associate   s.p.khare@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ze Xian Low (Nicholas) Research Associate   z.x.low@bath.ac.uk
Dr Saravanan Rengaraj Research Associate   s.rengaraj@bath.ac.uk
Dr Fabio Santomauro Research Associate 01225 38 4935 f.santomauro@bath.ac.uk
Dr Salman Shahid Research Associate   s.shahid@bath.ac.uk
Dr Junjie Shen Research Associate   j.shen@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mi Tian Research Associate 01225 38 4348 m.tian@bath.ac.uk
Dr Dominic Walsh Research Associate   d.walsh2@bath.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Wells Research Associate   s.a.wells@bath.ac.uk
Dr Kim Wu Research Associate   h.y.wu@bath.ac.uk

Emeritus Professor/Honorary Professor

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Barry Crittenden Honorary Professor   b.d.crittenden@bath.ac.uk
Professor Malcolm Greaves Emeritus Professor in Chemical Engineering   m.greaves@bath.ac.uk 
Professor John Howell Emeritus Professor in Chemical Engineering   j.a.howell@bath.ac.uk
Professor Stan Kolaczkowski Honorary Professor   s.t.kolaczkowski@bath.ac.uk