Department of Chemistry


Professor of Inorganic Chemistry

Wessex House 1.19


Tel: +44 (0) 1225 383183 


Prof Paul Raithby


Paul Raithby has held the Chair of Inorganic Chemistry at the University of Bath since 2000.  He is currently an EPSRC Senior Research Fellow (2006-2011) working on the development of time resolved crystallography.  In his research he uses synchrotron radiation as one of his key research tools and has worked extensively at the Synchrotron Radiation Source, Daresbury Laboratory, and at the ESRF, Grenoble.  He was chair of the working party that is developing the new “small molecule” single-crystal X-ray diffraction beamline (I19) that has been built at the Diamond synchrotron at the Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Didcot.  He is the immediate past President of the British Crystallographic Association (2006-2009) and is currently a member of the EPSRC Technical Opportunities Panel (TOP). He is also the Champion of the EPSRC Grand Challenge entitled "Directed Assembly of Extended Structures with Targeted Properties".   

Paul Raithby’s research interests are in the area of solid state materials and materials science where he uses a range of synthetic, spectroscopic, diffraction and knowledge mining techniques to probe the correlation between materials and their properties.  He is currently working on the development of new organometallic oligomers and polymers that have applications in the opto-electronics industry and on coordination complexes that can act as sensors and data storage materials.

Research Interests

  • Time resolved Crystallography
  • Solid State Reactions
  • Organometallic Oligomers and Polymers
  • Transition Metal Clusters
  • Structural Systematics in Organic and Organometallic Materials
  • Luminescent and Triboluminescent Lanthanide Complexes


Read publications by Paul Raithby

View more publications »