CMB logo designed by Matt Dorey

University of Bath - links to University homeCentre for Mathematical Biology


Nick Britton, Mathematical Sciences
Edward Feil, Biology and Biochemistry

Core members
Ben Adams, Mathematical Sciences
Dick James, Physics
Frank Hilker, Mathematical Sciences
Nick Priest, Biology and Biochemistry
Hartmut Schwetlick, Mathematical Sciences
Jane White, Mathematical Sciences

Some current PhD students
Andrew Bate (theoretical ecology)
James Clarke (infectious disease control)
Katy Gaythorpe (epidemic control)
Eleanor Harrison (epidemiology)
Jennifer Jones (drug monitoring)
Colin McClure (life history evolution)
Finn McQuaid (food-web dynamics)
Steve Raper ( bTB epidemiology)
Daniel Taylor (cultural evolution)
Hannah Woodall (dengue epidemiology)
Andrew Woodford (drug monitoring)
Weihao Zhong (sexual conflict)

Some former PhD students
Graeme Boswell (University of Glamorgan)
Victoria Brown (University of Michigan)
Claudia Carrillo (Oxford Brookes University)
Farida Chamchod (Mahidol University)
Matthew Dorey (Health Protection Agency)
Stephen Gourley (University of Surrey)
Ivana Gudelj (University of Exeter)
Steven White (CEH Wallingford)

All staff members

Biology and Biochemistry
Steve Dorus, evolutionary genetics and genomics
Edward Feil, molecular evolution, bacterial pathogens
Laurence Hurst, evolutionary genetics
Alex Jeffries, functional genomics, molecular evolution
Robert Kelsh, developmental biology, gene networks
Nick Priest, evolutionary genetics
Alan Rayner, fungi, complexity
Tamas Szekely, evolutionary biology
Matthew Wills, macroevolutionary patterns
Jason Wolf, evolutionary genetics

Computer Science
Joanna Bryson, natural intelligence, intelligent systems.
Mariana De Vos, evolutionary game theory.


Christos Ioannidis, time series dynamic models
Andreas Krause, networks, agent-based simulations

Mathematical Sciences
Ben Adams, epidemiology, pathogen evolution
Nick Britton, ecology, epidemiology and evolution
Frank Hilker, ecology and epidemiology
Merrilee Hurn, MCMC methods, image analysis
Hartmut Schwetlick, analysis, PDEs, modelling, numerics
Gavin Shaddick, statistics, epidemiology
Jane White, ecology, epidemiology pharmacokinetics

Pharmacy and Pharmacology
Begona Delgado-Charro, drug delivery, pharmacokinetics


Philippe Blondel, acoustic mapping of habitats and ecosystems underwater
Dick James
, animal aggregation
Alain Nogaret, spiking semiconductor neurons

or Centre for Mathematical Biology, Department of Mathematics, University of Bath, Bath BA2 7AY Tel: +44 (0) 1225 386005 E-mail:

This page maintained by Last updated: 23 August, 2013
Copyright 2013 University of Bath Disclaimer Privacy Statement