Centre for Sustainable Chemical Technologies

Royal Society of Chemistry Prize and Award Lectures:
Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Symposium

Poster v2Friday 12 November 2010

Time: 11.30 – 17.30
Location: University of Bath, Building 6 West South (maps)

We are delighted to host the symposium for this year's Royal Society of Chemistry Environment, Sustainability and Energy Division Awards. The awards all reward outstanding work in specialist subject areas within the broad topics of environment, sustainability and energy.

Full details of the awards and the winners Updated link

Running order

11.30 – 13.00
  • Prof Saiful Islam (University of Bath): Atomic-scale insight into clean energy materials — batteries included
  • Prof Clare Grey (University of Cambridge; John Jeyes Award): Energy storage and conversion: using local structural probes to understand and optimise the functioning of battery and fuel cell materials
14.00 – 15.30
  • Dr Barbara Kasprzyk-Hordern (University of Bath): Pharmacologically active compounds in the urban water cycle
  • Prof William Davison (Lancaster University; Sustainable Water Award):  Probing the chemistry of natural waters and sediments with in situ dynamic measurements
16.00 – 17.30
  • Dr Simon Lewis (University of Bath): Arene bio-oxidations: green and clean but not mean!
  • Prof Roger Sheldon (Delft University of Technology; Green Chemistry Award): On catalysis, green chemistry and sustainability
17.30 onwards
  • Wine reception