Human Resources


For all queries please email 

Further information

UK Visas & Immigration

Points Based System

The Points Based System covers migrants from outside the EEA and Switzerland who require leave under immigration rules to enter the UK.

Most migrants must pass a points-based assessment before they can get permission to work in the UK.

Each of the system's tiers have different requirements: the number of points the migrant needs and the way the points are awarded will depend on the tier.

What are the tiers?

  • Tier 1: for highly skilled workers, such as Entrepreneurs and Exceptional Talent.
  • Tier 2: for skilled workers with a job offer, such as Lecturers and Professors 
  • Tier 4: for students
  • Tier 5: for temporary workers, such as sponsored researchers or participants in the youth mobility scheme

The Department of Human Resources administers the University's licence for Tier 2 and Tier 5 of the Points Based Immigration System and, in particular circumstances, may be able to sponsor non-european migrants in these Tiers.