Institute for Mathematical Innovation

Our people


IMI Central Team

Name Role Contact
Professor Jonathan Dawes Director
+44 (0)1225 386223
Professor Chris Budd, OBE Deputy Director
+44 (0)1225 386241
Dr Paul Shepherd Deputy Director
+44 (0)1225 384406
Dr Joanna Jordan Manager (on maternity leave)
+44 (0)1225 383088
Professor Mike Tipping Professor of Data Science (1W, 4.13)
+44 (0)1225 386964
Assoc. Prof. Colin Fox Global Chair
Dr Catherine Barnaby Commercial Research Associate
+44 (0)1225 385245
Dr Ellen Murphy Commercial Research Associate
+44 (0)1225 383436
Dr Lorna Wilson Commercial Research Associate
+44 (0)1225 386938
Dr James Hook Prize Fellow
+44 (0)1225 386573
Mrs Sanne Terry Marketing & Communications Officer
+44 (0)1225 384122
Mrs Juliet Somma Institute Coordinator
+44 (0)1225 385185
Dr Filipa Vance Institute Coordinator (Research Grants)
+44 (0)1225 385886
Mrs Rachel Willis Institute Coordinator 
+44 (0)1225 383404

Mrs Nia Fenn Institute Administrator
+44 (0)1225 383088


IMI Secondees 2016-2017

IMI secondees join us from across the University of Bath to develop exciting interdisciplinary research proposals and collaborate with industrial partners.

Read about our secondees and their interdisciplinary work.  

Name Department Contact
Dr Philippe Blondel
Professor Chris Bowen Mechanical Engineering
Professor Chris Brace Mechanical Engineering
Dr Katherine Button   Psychology
Dr Sean Cumming Health
Dr Thomas Kjeldsen Architecture and Civil Engineering
Dr Nicholas Priest Biology and Biochemistry
Dr Michelle St Clair Psychology
Professor Nigel Wilding Physics


IMI Research Panel

The IMI Research Panel consists of Department/School of Management representatives. The group meets quarterly to review the activities of the Institute and discuss upcoming new research opportunities.

Name Department Contact
Dr Maria Battarra School of Management
Dr John Chew Chemical Engineering
Dr David Cutts Politics, Languages & International Studies
Professor James Davenport Computer Science
Dr Begoña Delgado-Charro Pharmacy and Pharmacology
Dr Richard James Physics
Dr Carly McKay Health
Professor Michele Meo Mechanical Engineering
Professor Nick Mitchell Electronic and Electrical Engineering
Professor Steve Parker Chemistry
Dr Peter Postl Department of Economics
Dr Nick Priest Biology and Biochemistry
Dr Tim Rogers Mathematical Sciences
Professor Graham Room Social & Policy Sciences
Dr Andres Sandoval-Hernandez    Education
Dr Paul Shepherd Architecture and Civil Engineering      
Dr Michelle St Clair Psychology


IMI Steering Group

The IMI Steering Group oversees and guides the work of the Institute. It also provides formal links between the Institute and the University Executive, the Faculties, the School of Management and the Institute for Policy Research.  

Name Department / Faculty Contact
Professor Nick Brook Dean of Faculty of Science
Professor Chris Budd, OBE Deputy Director of IMI
Dr Katherine Button   Psychology (IMI secondee)
Professor Jonathan Dawes Director of IMI
Professor David Galbreath Dean of Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor Gary Hawley Dean of Faculty of Engineering and Design
Professor Veronica Hope Hailey Dean and Head of School of Management
Dr Jon Hunt Director of Research and Innovation Services
Dr Joanna Jordan Manager of IMI (on maternity leave)
Dr Thomas Kjeldsen Architecture and Civil Engineering (IMI secondee)
Professor Jonathan Knight Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research)
Professor Peter Mörters Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences
Professor Nick Pearce Director of Institute for Policy Research