Centre for Learning and Teaching

Ed Carter wins Ede & Ravenscroft Prize 2014

Thu May 15 15:18:00 BST 2014

Ede & Ravenscroft Prize Winner 2014

Pharmacy and Pharmacology PhD student Ed Carter is this year's winner of the Ede & Ravenscroft Prize. 

Awarded annually by the University's Ede & Ravenscroft Prize Committee, chaired by Professor Jane Millar, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research), this prize recognises the University's best research student.

Professor Millar said:

"The standard of entries for this year’s prize was especially impressive, with a large number of entries from departments and faculties across the University. This reflects the excellent range, quality and scope of the research being undertaken by our postgraduates.

"The Committee faced an extremely tough decision in selecting the five finalists, and the decision making process was not made any easier by the extremely high quality of the presentations given by the finalists.

"This year’s winner was a notable and well deserved one and on behalf of all the Prize Committee members, we send out warmest congratulations to Ed for his achievement. We wish Ed every success in his research and future career."

Ed’s presentation was entitled, ‘Branching out: key players in the growth of the airway tree’ and explained how his research into how lungs damaged by disease revert to their developmental stages and the potential for novel regenerative therapies.

This year's other finalists were:

  • Steffi Colyer (Department for Health) ‘Enhancing start performance in skeleton’
  • Monika Grusova (Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering) ‘Lifetime extension of reinforced concrete structures’
  • Maiseem Laabei (Department of Biology & Biochemistry) ‘Bacterial virulence: detection, identification, prediction’
  • Olivia Smith (Department of Social & Policy Sciences) ’Observing justice: an exploration of rape and sexual assault trials’

Further information email Dr Neil Strevett, PGR Studies Manager, ext 5258

(Photo : l-r Professor Sue Wonnacott, Professor Jane Millar, Professor Gary Lock & winner Ed Carter)