Centre for Learning and Teaching

Professor Stephen Ward wins Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize 2015

Tue Jun 23 15:18:00 BST 2015

Stephen Ward Professor Stephen Ward, Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, is this year's winner of the University's Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize. Announced by the Chair of the selection panel, Professor Jane Millar, OBE, Pro-Vice-Chancellor Research and reported to Senate, this annual Prize promotes, recognises and rewards excellence in the supervision of doctoral students of all kinds. Professor Millar said:

"I am delighted to announce Professor Stephen Ward, Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology as the winner of the Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize for 2015.

"Stephen is an exceptional supervisor who, over a 20 year period has supervised more than 30 PhD students. His passionate, supportive and challenging engagement with students has enabled them to achieve the highest standards in their field and is an example of the outstanding quality of supervision available to our doctoral students. The award goes to a very worthy winner.

"The Prize Committee were again impressed by the very high standard of nominations in this the sixth year of the prize and look forward to receiving outstanding nominations in future years."

About the Doctoral Supervision Prize

Each year nominations for this Prize are invited from Heads of Departments/Schools following consultation with Directors of Studies for Postgraduate students. Find out more about the nomination process, eligibility and criteria.

Further information, contact LTEO Executive Officer, ext 4819