Researcher Development

Working Group to discuss a Career Progression Framework for Research Staff

The working group was established in January 2016 with the aim to:

  • Discuss and develop a framework for career progression for research staff
  • Identify all possible progression routes in academia for research staff and consider mechanisms of allowing these routes to happen at the University of Bath
  • Consult with relevant stakeholders to identify barriers and opportunities that need to be overcome to progress
  • Develop a strategy for the dissemination of the framework for career progression

The group aims to publish a report in autumn 2016.


  • Jonathan Knight – chair
  • Jeanette Müller - secretary
  • Deborah Griffin (HR Manager ASC)
  • Anne Cameron (Careers Advisor for researchers)
  • Jenny Hatchard (Research staff, Health)
  • Marc Hutchby (Research staff, Chemistry)
  • David Galbreath (Associate Dean Research, Humanities and Social Sciences)
  • Chris Brace (Chair of RSWG, Mechanical Engineering)
  • Carole Mundell (Professor, Physics)
  • Stephanie Diezmann (Lecturer, Biology)
  • Kellie Brain (RIS)