Centre for Learning and Teaching

Ede and Ravenscroft Prize Winners

The members of the Prize Committee are:

  • Professor Jonathan Knight, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) Chair
  • Professor Edmund Keogh, Member of University Research Student Committee and Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences
  • Professor Tina Düren, Faculty of Engineering and Design Professor
  • David Galbreath, Dean of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
The winner of the 2017 prize is: Emma Robson, Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology, Faculty of Science  (Pictured right is Emma Robson with Professor Jonathan Knight)
The title of Emma’s presentation was ‘Finding your way around: The importance of brain rhythms’.  In her talk, Emma explained her research into glutamate, a major transmitter in the brain.  Glutamate has several different receptors, one of which is named the KAr, so called becauseEmma Robson ER winner 2017 it is strongly activated by kainic acid (KA), a marine acid produced by algae and seaweed.  The principal aim of her research project was to investigate functions of the KAr, which is increasingly being shown to be important in neuronal communication, particularly in synchronization of brain activity. Evidence also points to important roles for the KAr in brain disorders, including pain,
neurodegenerative syndromes (such as Alzheimer’s disease), schizophrenia and epilepsy. 
The Committee based their decision on both Emma’s presentation and the more detailed account of her research in her nomination paper.  Professor Jonathan Knight, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) and Chair of the Prize Committee, said:  “The range of departments and research areas repreented in this year’s final are a great indication of the breadth and depth of research being carried out at the University by our highly valued PhD students. This year we were particularly impressed by the effort the finalists went to in making often very complex research understandable to a lay audience.”

Research Presentations

The Committee were pleased to be able to invite five postgraduate research students form a range of disciplines and research projects to present their work. The quality of research was agreed to be exceptional and the ability of presenters to communicate their area of expertise to a general audience was commended. The Committee enjoyed all the presentations and welcomed the questions and comments of the audience.
Ede and Ravenscroft prize 2017

Pictured left are all finalists with members of the Prize Commitee. From left to right: Tina Düren, Emma Robson, Phillip Trotter, Professor David Galbreath, Siobhan Mitchell, Professor Jonathan Knight, Professor Orietta Marsili, Professor Edmund Keogh, Rosina Savisaar and Daniel Brown.  




The other finalists were:

Daniel BROWN
Department for Health, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences 
Presentation Title: Surviving or Thriving? Enhancing understanding of human development and success
Department of Biology & Biochemistry, Faculty of Science
Presentation Title: The importance of the hidden messages in our genes
Department for Health, Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences 
Presentation Title: Growing up in dance
Department of Mechanical Engineering, Faculty of Engineering & Design
Presentation Title: Power to the People - Multi-criteria electrification planning in sub-Saharan Africa

Past Winners






Jack Olston

Biology & Biochemistry

Convergent Evolution: Roadmaps or Roundabouts?


Tara Cheetham


Learning to cope under pressure: manipulating stress and exploring resilience in children


Ed Carter

Pharmacy & Pharmacology

Branching out: key players in the growth of the airway tree


Katie Charneski

Biology & Biochemistry

Postively charged amino acids are the major determinants of ribosomal velocity (and why don't codons slow ribosomes after all?)


Joe Kinrade

Electronic & Electrical Engineering 

Sky on fire - The Auroral Effects on GPS in the Antarctic


Tatiana Kim

Mathematical Sciences

Danger: high-frequency!


Tobias Warnecke

Biology & Biochemistry

Colonel Mustard, with the candlestick,... in the loft conversion??!! Redrawing the board of genetic Cluedo: How mutations cause harm in unexpected places


James Stone


Blue wavelength enhanced supercontinuum generation “Getting the blues”


Shifaan Thowfeequ

Biology & Biochemistry

Towards a Novel Therapy for Diabetes: A Bio-alchemist's approach


Miss J Parmley

Biology & Biochemistry

Splicing and the Evolution of Mammalian Genes


Miss H Shearer

Chemical Engineering

Tissue Engineering for Bone Repair: A Four Dimensional Challenge


Ms K Coopman

Pharmacy & Pharmacology

Exploring a Role for Cannabis Products in Inflammation


Ms A Dowling

Biology & Biochemistry

The insecticidal toxin Makes caterpillars floppy (Mcf) promotes apoptosis in mammalian cells


Ms A O Urrutia

Biology & Biochemistry

Human Genome Organisation: the fine tuning for transcription


Mr A Parfitt

Mechanical Engineering

Adaptive camouflage based upon biological principles


Ms S Iyer

Biology & Biochemistry

Structure and function of the Placenta growth factor


Mr E B Mallon

Biology & Biochemistry

Decision-making in colonies of the ant Leptothorax albipennis


Mrs C Edmunds

Pharmacy & Pharmacology

T lymphocyte activation within the immune system


Mr N G C Smith

Biology & Biochemistry

The costs and consequences of gene copy number variation


Mr S Serkov

Mathematical Sciences

(details not available)


Mr J D Schmitt

Biology & Biochemistry

The design and synthesis of novel synthetic trans membrane peptides


Miss E C M Crooks

Mathematical Sciences

Reaction diffusion systems


Mr T J Gosling

Mathematical Sciences

Modelling dislocations in strained-layer devices


No award


Mr W J Crowther

Mechanical Engineering

Aircraft Yaw Control at High Angle of Attack by Tangential Forebody Blowing


Mr I W Davies


New Methodology for Asymmetric Synthesis


If you would like further information about the Ede & Ravenscroft Prize Committee, please contact Mark Pender, ext. 3598.