Department of Mathematical Sciences

maths banner 1

Staff and contacts

Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Bath
Claverton Down
Bath BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 6989

For enquiries please contact us at: maths-enquiries@bath.ac.uk

Admissions enquiries

Undergraduate: ask-admissions@bath.ac.uk
Postgraduate research: fsci-gs-admissionsqueries@rt.bath.ac.uk
 

Academic staff

Mathematics

Names Job title Office Phone
Dr Ben Adams Senior Lecturer in Mathematical Biology 4 West 4.6 6320
Prof Nicholas Britton Professor of Mathematics 4 West 4.18 6005
Prof Chris Budd OBE Professor of Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.17 6241
Prof Francis Burstall Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.39 6999
Prof Geoffrey Burton Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.43 6218
Prof David Calderbank Professor of Mathematics & Head of Group 4 West 3.41 6219
Dr Kirill Cherednichenko EPSRC Research Fellow, Reader 4 West 1.8 6891
Dr Alastair Craw Reader in Mathematics 4 West 3.49 5327
Prof Jonathan Dawes Director of Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation / Professor of Applied Mathematics 4 West 4.12 6223
Dr Jonathan Evans Reader in Applied Mathematics 6 West 1.18 6994
Dr Veronique Fischer Senior Lecturer in Analysis 4 West 3.40 3205
Prof Edward Fraenkel FRS Visiting Professor 4 West 3.35 5639
Dr Melina Freitag Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.11 5635
Prof Victor Galaktionov Professor of Mathematics 6 West 1.17 6011
Dr Silvia Gazzola Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 5.7 5483
Prof Ivan Graham Professor of Numerical Analysis 6 West 1.24a 6343
Dr Chris Guiver Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.12 4150
Dr Adrian Hill Reader in Mathematics 4 West 1.14 5329
Dr James Hook Prize Fellow (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 4.9 6573
Prof Alastair King Professor of Pure Mathematics 4 West 3.46 3274
Prof Hartmut Logemann Professor of Mathematics 4 West 5.13 6008
Dr Apala Majumdar EPSRC Research Fellow, Reader 4 West 1.12 5321
Dr Karsten Matthies Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.25c 3858
Prof Paul Milewski Professor of Mathematics 4 West 5.19 6224
Prof Roger Moser Professor of Mathematics 4 West 4.16 6699
Dr Eike Müller Lecturer in Scientific Computing 4 West 2.17 6470
Dr Johannes Nordström Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 1.10 4479
Dr Mark Opmeer Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.14 6618
Dr Martin Reed Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 6 West 1.23 6186
Dr Tim Rogers Royal Society University Research Fellow 4 West 3.37 6457
Prof Gene Ryan Professor Emeritus 4 West 3.35 6010
Prof Gregory Sankaran Professor of Pure Mathematics 4 West 5.16 6220
Dr Lucia Scardia Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 3.45 5641
Prof Rob Scheichl Professor of Scientific Computing & Deputy Head of Department 4 West 2.20 6034
Dr Hartmut Schwetlick Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.10 6006
Dr Tony Shardlow Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.7a 6188
Prof Jeyabal Sivaloganathan Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.47 6003
Dr Geoff Smith MBE Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.16 6182
Prof Alastair Spence Professor of Numerical Analysis 6 West 1.17 6011
Dr Euan Spence Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.25d 6978
Dr Xiuping Su Lecturer in Pure Mathematics 6 West 1.25 4738
Dr Gunnar Traustason Reader in Pure Mathematics 4 West 3.42 3936
Dr Jane White Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 4.15 6242
Dr Kit Yates Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.11 6005
Prof Johannes Zimmer Professor of Mathematics 6 West 1.8 6097

Statistics/Probability

Names Job title Office Phone
Dr Karim Anaya-Izquierdo Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.13 4644
Dr Nicole Augustin Senior Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 5.14 6007
Dr Alex Cox Senior Lecturer in Probability 6 West 1.13 6187
Dr Evangelos Evangelou Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.7 5673
Prof Julian Faraway Professor of Statistics & Head of Group 4 West 5.9 6992
Dr Simon Harris Senior Lecturer in Probability 4 West 3.36 6015
Dr Merrilee Hurn Senior Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 3.44 6001
Dr Antal Jarai Senior Lecturer in Probability 6 West 1.16 4264
Prof Christopher Jennison Professor of Statistics 4 West 5.12 5674
Prof Andreas Kyprianou Professor of Probability 4 West 4.17 6200
Dr Finn Lindgren Reader in Statistics 4 West 5.15 5331
Prof Peter Mörters Professor of Probability & Head of Department 6 West 1.12 6216
Prof Mathew Penrose Professor of Probability 4 West 4.11 6222
Dr Ilaria Prosdocimi Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.14 6603
Dr Matt Roberts Prize Fellow and EPSRC Research Fellow 4 West 1.13 5325
Dr Gavin Shaddick Reader in Statistics 4 West 5.7 6002
Dr Simon Shaw Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.10 6106
Dr Daniel Simpson Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 5.6 3789
Dr Theresa Smith Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 2.18 5803
Dr Alexandre Stauffer
Prize Fellow 6 West 1.21 6184
Prof Mike Tipping Professor of Data Science ((Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 1 West 3.53 6964

Administration / Other

Names Job title Office Phone
Emma Chilton Undergraduate Programme Administrator 4 West 2.13 6249
Myla Dixon
Department Coordinator 4 West 2.13 6997
Susie Douglas Centre Manager (SAMBa Centre for Doctoral Training) 4 West 1.16 5661
Joanna Jordan Centre Manager (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 3088
Sally Lewis Placements Officer 3 West 3.2c 5852
Jess Ohren Administrator (SAMBa Centre for Doctoral Training) 4 West 1.16 5631
Amanda Pedley Undergraduate Programme Administrator 4 West 2.13 6359
Thea Piper Undergraduate Administrative Assistant 4 West 2.13 6199
Elaine Ritchie Department Secretary 4 West 2.13 6989
Ben Sparks Further Maths Support Programme Area Coordinator 6 West 1.7 4642
Sanne Terry Marketing and Communications Officer ((Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 4122
Filipa Vance Institute Coordinator for Research Grants (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 5886
Catrin Yeomans Institute Coordinator (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 3404

Research staff

Name Job title E-mail
Dr Matthew Aldridge Heilbronn Research Fellow m.aldridge@bath.ac.uk
Dr Fabian Bachl Research Associate f.e.bachl@bath.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Barnaby Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) c.l.barnaby@bath.ac.uk
Dr Victor Bayona Research Associate v.bayona.revilla@bath.ac.uk
Dr Shane Cooper EPSRC Research Fellow s.a.l.cooper@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sergey Dolgov EPSRC Research Fellow s.dolgov@bath.ac.uk
Dr Yulia Ershova Research Associate y.ershova@bath.ac.uk
Mr Matteo Fasiolo Research Associate m.fasiolo@bath.ac.uk
Dr Carlos Galeano Rios Research Associate c.a.galeano.rios@bath.ac.uk
Mr Augusto Gerolin Research Associate a.gerolin@bath.ac.uk
Miss Millie Jobling Research Assistant a.c.a.jobling@bath.ac.uk
Dr Joe Karmazyn EPSRC Research Fellow j.karmazyn@bath.ac.uk
Dr Tatiana Kim Research Associate t.kim@bath.ac.uk
Dr Cécile Mailler Research Associate c.mailler@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrew McRae Research Associate a.t.t.mcrae@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ellen Murphy Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) e.murphy@bath.ac.uk
Dr Anne Reinarz Research Associate a.k.reinarz@bath.ac.uk
Mr Bati Sengul Research Associate b.sengul@bath.ac.uk
Mr Marios Stamatakis Research Associate m.g.stamatakis@bath.ac.uk
Dr Marcus Waurick Research Associate m.waurick@bath.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Wilson Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) L.Wilson@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ziyu Zhang Research Officer z.zhang3@bath.ac.uk

Teaching Fellows

Name Office E-mail
Dr Jorge Bruno 1 West 4.17 j.l.bruno@bath.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Cottrell 1 West 4.17 t.p.cottrell@bath.ac.uk
Dr James Edwards 1 West 4.19 jpe28@bath.ac.uk
Dr Christopher Hallsworth Wessex House 5.32 c.a.hallsworth@bath.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Raper 6 West 1.7 s.l.raper@bath.ac.uk
Ms Thomai Tsiftsi 1 West 4.19 t.tsiftsi@bath.ac.uk