Department of Mathematical Sciences

maths banner 1

Staff and contacts

Department of Mathematical Sciences
University of Bath
Claverton Down
Bath BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 6989

For enquiries please contact us at: maths-enquiries@bath.ac.uk

Admissions enquiries

Undergraduate: ask-admissions@bath.ac.uk
Postgraduate research: fsci-pgadmissions@bath.ac.uk
 

Academic staff

Mathematics

Names Job title Office Phone
Dr Ben Adams Senior Lecturer in Mathematical Biology 4 West 4.6 6320
Prof Nicholas Britton Honorary Professor of Mathematics 6 West 1.11 6005
Prof Dorothy Buck Professor of Mathematics 4 West 5.18 6002
Prof Chris Budd OBE Professor of Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.17 6241
Prof Francis Burstall Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.39 6999
Prof Geoffrey Burton Honorary Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.35 5639
Prof David Calderbank Professor of Mathematics & Head of Group 4 West 3.41 6219
Dr Kirill Cherednichenko EPSRC Research Fellow, Reader 4 West 1.8 6891
Dr Alastair Craw Reader in Mathematics 4 West 3.49 5327
Prof Jonathan Dawes Director of Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation / Professor of Applied Mathematics 4 West 4.12 6223
Dr Sergey Dolgov Lecturer in Applied Mathematics and EPSRC Research Fellow 6 West 1.25d 6216
Dr Jonathan Evans Reader in Applied Mathematics 6 West 1.18 6994
Dr Veronique Fischer Senior Lecturer in Analysis 4 West 4.18 3205
Prof Edward Fraenkel FRS Visiting Professor 4 West 3.35 5639
Dr Melina Freitag Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.11 5635
Prof Victor Galaktionov Professor of Mathematics 6 West 1.17 6011
Dr Silvia Gazzola Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 5.7 5483
Prof Ivan Graham Professor of Numerical Analysis 6 West 1.24a 6343
Dr Chris Guiver Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.12 4150
Prof Mark Haskins Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.43 6218
Dr Adrian Hill Reader in Mathematics 4 West 1.14 5329
Dr James Hook Prize Fellow (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 4.9 6573
Prof Alastair King Professor of Pure Mathematics 4 West 3.46 3274
Prof Hartmut Logemann Professor of Mathematics 4 West 5.13 6008
Dr Apala Majumdar Reader 4 West 1.12 5321
Dr Karsten Matthies Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.25c 3858
Prof Paul Milewski Professor of Mathematics & Head of Department 4 West 5.19 6224
Prof Roger Moser Professor of Mathematics 4 West 4.16 6699
Dr Eike Müller Lecturer in Scientific Computing 4 West 2.17 6470
Dr Johannes Nordström Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 1.10 4479
Dr Mark Opmeer Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.14 6618
Dr Tiago Peixoto Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 5.6 3789
Dr Martin Reed Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 6 West 1.23 6186
Dr Tim Rogers Reader and Royal Society University Research Fellow 4 West 3.37 6457
Prof Gene Ryan Professor Emeritus 4 West 3.35 6010
Prof Gregory Sankaran Professor of Pure Mathematics 4 West 5.16 6220
Dr Lucia Scardia Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 3.45 5641
Prof Rob Scheichl Professor of Scientific Computing & Deputy Head of Department 4 West 2.20 6034
Dr Hartmut Schwetlick Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 5.10 6006
Dr Tony Shardlow Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.7a 6188
Prof Jeyabal Sivaloganathan Professor of Mathematics 4 West 3.47 6003
Dr Geoff Smith MBE Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.16 6182
Prof Alastair Spence Professor of Numerical Analysis 6 West 1.17 6011
Dr Euan Spence Lecturer in Mathematics 6 West 1.12 6978
Dr Xiuping Su Lecturer in Pure Mathematics 6 West 1.25 4738
Professor John Toland FRS FRSE Honorary Professor 4 West 3.35 6010
Dr Gunnar Traustason Reader in Pure Mathematics 4 West 3.42 3936
Dr Phil Trinh Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4W 2.18 5331
Dr Jane White Senior Lecturer in Applied Mathematics 4 West 4.15 6242
Dr Kit Yates Senior Lecturer in Mathematics 4 West 2.11 6005
Prof Johannes Zimmer Professor of Mathematics 6 West 1.8 6097

Statistics/Probability

Names Job title Office Phone
Dr Karim Anaya-Izquierdo Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.13 4644
Dr Nicole Augustin Senior Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 5.14 6007
Dr Alex Cox Senior Lecturer in Probability 6 West 1.13 6187
Dr Evangelos Evangelou Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.7 5673
Prof Julian Faraway Professor of Statistics & Head of Group 4 West 5.9 6992
Dr Simon Harris Senior Lecturer in Probability 4 West 3.36 6015
Dr Kari Heine Lecturer in Statistics 6 West 1.25b 5126
Dr Merrilee Hurn Senior Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 3.44 6001
Dr Antal Jarai Senior Lecturer in Probability 6 West 1.16 4264
Prof Christopher Jennison Professor of Statistics 4 West 5.12 5674
Prof Andreas Kyprianou Professor of Probability 4 West 4.17 6200
Dr Cécile Mailler Prize Fellow 6 West 1.25a 5304
Dr Marcel Ortgiese Lecturer in Probability 4 West 3.40 3618
Prof Mathew Penrose Professor of Probability 4 West 4.11 6222
Dr Ilaria Prosdocimi Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.14 6603
Dr Matt Roberts Royal Society University Research Fellow 4 West 1.13 5325
Prof Gavin Shaddick Visiting Professor To be confirmed  
Dr Simon Shaw Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 4.10 6106
Dr Theresa Smith Lecturer in Statistics 4 West 5.15 5803
Dr Alexandre Stauffer
Reader in Probability and EPSRC Early Career Fellow 6 West 1.21 6184
Prof Mike Tipping Professor of Data Science (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 1 West 3.53 6964

Administration / Other

Names Job title Office Phone
Rachael Chambers Undergraduate Programmes Administrator, Mathematical Sciences 4 West 2.13 6249
Susie Douglas Centre Manager (SAMBa Centre for Doctoral Training) 4 West 1.16 5661
Nia Fenn Institute Administrator (Bath Institute for                 Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 3088
George Gibbs Undergraduate Administrative Assistant 4 West 2.13 6359
Sally Lewis Placements Officer, Mathematical Sciences Wessex House 1.13 5852
Jess Ohren Administrator (SAMBa Centre for Doctoral Training) 4 West 1.16 5631
Amanda Pedley Undergraduate Programmes Administrator 4 West 2.13 6199
Elaine Ritchie Department Coordinator, Mathematical Sciences 4 West 2.13 6989
Paul Shepherd Deputy Director (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 East South 5.12 4406
Juliet Somma Institute Coordinator (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 5185
Ben Sparks Further Maths Support Programme Area Coordinator 6 West 1.7 4642
Sanne Terry Marketing and Communications Officer (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 4122
Filipa Vance Institute Coordinator for Research Grants (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 5886
Myla Watts Department Coordinator, Mathematical Sciences 4 West 2.13 6997
Rachel Willis Institute Coordinator (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) 4 West 2.15 3404

Research staff

Name Job title E-mail
Dr Matthew Aldridge Heilbronn Research Fellow m.aldridge@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ben Ashby Research Fellow b.n.ashby@bath.ac.uk
Dr Catherine Barnaby Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) c.l.barnaby@bath.ac.uk
Mr Tom Burnett Research Assistant t.burnett@bath.ac.uk
Dr Alessandra Caraceni Research Associate a.caraceni@bath.ac.uk
Dr Alessandra Cipriani Research Associate a.cipriani@bath.ac.uk
Dr George Constable Research Fellow g.w.a.constable@bath.ac.uk
Dr Yulia Ershova Research Associate y.ershova@bath.ac.uk
Dr Carlos Galeano Rios Research Associate c.a.galeano.rios@bath.ac.uk
Dr Tao Gao Research Associate t.gao@bath.ac.uk
Miss Millie Green Research Assistant a.c.a.jobling@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jesus Martinez Garcia Research Associate j.martinez.garcia@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ellen Murphy Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) e.murphy@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sandra Palau Royal Society Visiting Newton International Fellow sp2236@bath.ac.uk
Dr Anne Reinarz Research Associate a.k.reinarz@bath.ac.uk
Dr Gareth Tracey Research Associate g.m.tracey@bath.ac.uk
Dr Florian Völlering Research Associate f.m.vollering@bath.ac.uk
Dr Minmin Wang Research Associate m.wang2@bath.ac.uk
Dr Lorna Wilson Commercial Research Associate (Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation) L.Wilson@bath.ac.uk
Dr Yuguang Zhang Research Associate y.zhang5@bath.ac.uk

Teaching Fellows

Name Office E-mail
Dr Waleed Ali 4 West 3.48 w.a.a.ali@bath.ac.uk
Mr Tom Burnett 6 West 1.7 t.burnett@bath.ac.uk
Dr Thomas Cottrell 6 West 1.7 t.p.cottrell@bath.ac.uk
Dr James Foadi 6 West 1.7 j.foadi@bath.ac.uk
Dr Stephen Raper 6 West 1.7 s.l.raper@bath.ac.uk
Dr Freddy Symons 4 West 3.48 f.j.f.symons@bath.ac.uk