Department of Mechanical Engineering

Our people

For all admissions enquiries, please contact:

Email: admissions@bath.ac.uk
Tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 3019

For all other Department enquiries, please contact:

Email: mech-eng@bath.ac.uk
Tel: 01225 38 6115

Head of Department

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Gary Lock Professor of Aerospace Engineering, Head of Department 01225 38 6854 g.d.lock@bath.ac.uk

Academic and teaching staff

Name Title Phone Email
Dr Sam Akehurst Reader in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 3312 s.akehurst@bath.ac.uk
Dr Nicola Bailey Lecturer 01225 38 6692
Dr Chris Bannister Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4970 c.d.bannister@bath.ac.uk
Professor Chris Bowen Professor of Materials 01225 38 3660 c.r.bowen@bath.ac.uk
Professor Chris Brace Professor of Automotive Propulsion, Head of Thermo-Fluids Group 01225 38 6731 c.j.brace@bath.ac.uk
Dr Richard Burke Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 3481 r.d.burke@bath.ac.uk
Professor Richard Butler Professor in Aerospace Composites 01225 38 3213 r.butler@bath.ac.uk
Dr Michael Carley Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6321 m.j.carley@bath.ac.uk
Dr Francesco Ciampa Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6383 f.ciampa@bath.ac.uk
Dr David Cleaver Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 5776 d.j.cleaver@bath.ac.uk
Dr Sally Clift Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, Overseas Admissions Tutor, Director of Doctoral Studies 01225 38 6771 s.e.clift@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Cookson
Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6296 a.n.cookson@bath.ac.uk
Dr Colin Copeland Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6588 c.d.copeland@bath.ac.uk
Dr Charles Courtney Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4550 c.r.p.courtney@bath.ac.uk
Professor Stephen Culley Professor of Engineering Design 01225 38 6456 S.J.Culley@bath.ac.uk
Dr James L. Cunningham Reader in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6579 J.L.Cunningham@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jos Darling Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, Director of Teaching, Undergraduate Admissions Tutor 01225 38 6578 j.darling@bath.ac.uk
Dr Elies Dekoninck Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4029 e.a.dekoninck@bath.ac.uk
Dr Vimal Dhokia Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6596
Dr Jonathan du Bois Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 5694 j.l.du.bois@bath.ac.uk
Dr Joseph Flynn Lecturer in Mechancial Engineering 01225 38 6131 j.m.flynn@bath.ac.uk
Dr Katharine Fraser Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4446 k.h.fraser@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ioannis Georgilas Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 0125 38 4424
Dr Sabina Gheduzzi Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4560 s.gheduzzi@bath.ac.uk
Professor Richie Gill Professor of Healthcare Engineering, Head of Solid Mechanics and Materials Group 01225 28 4028 r.gill@bath.ac.uk
Professor Ismet Gursul Professor of Aerospace Engineering, 01225 38 6394 i.a.gursul@bath.ac.uk
Professor Gary Hawley Dean and Medlock Chair of Engineering, Faculty of Engineering and Design 01225 38 6855 j.g.hawley@bath.ac.uk
Professor Geoff Hammond Professor of Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6168 g.p.hammond@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Hillis Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4977 a.j.hillis@bath.ac.uk
Dr Alan Hunter Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 5097 a.j.hunter@bath.ac.uk
Dr Pejman Iravani Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, Director of Studies IMEE 01225 38 4494 p.iravani@bath.ac.uk
Dr Nigel Johnston Reader in Mechanical Engineering, Director of Postgraduate Studies (Research) 01225 38 3026 d.n.johnston@bath.ac.uk
Professor Gareth Jones Professor of Design Engineering 01225 38 5376 g.jones2@bath.ac.uk
Professor Patrick Keogh Professor of Machine Systems, Director of Research 01225 38 5958 p.s.keogh@bath.ac.uk
Dr Evripides Loukaides Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6239 e.loukaides@bath.ac.uk
Dr Marcelle McManus Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 3877 m.mcmanus@bath.ac.uk
Professor Michele Meo Professor of Smart Materials and Structures 01225 38 4224 m.meo@bath.ac.uk
Professor Tony Miles Professor of Biomechanics, Head of Design and Manufacturing Group 01225 38 6368 A.W.Miles@bath.ac.uk
Professor Glen Mullineux Professor of Design Technology 01225 38 6159 g.mullineux@bath.ac.uk
Professor Stephen T. Newman Professor of Innovative Manufacturing Technology 01225 38 6934 s.t.newman@bath.ac.uk
Professor Linda Newnes Professor in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6291 l.b.newnes@bath.ac.uk
Dr Roger Ngwompo Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 3762 r.f.ngwompo@bath.ac.uk
Dr Geraint (Speed) Owen Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4033 g.w.owen@bath.ac.uk
Dr Min Pan Lecturer in Machine Systems 01225 38 3023 m.pan@bath.ac.uk
Dr Elise Pegg Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 383375 e.c.pegg@bath.ac.uk
Dr Fulvio Pinto Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6091
Professor Andrew Plummer Professor of Machine Systems, Head of Machine Systems Group 01225 38 6140 a.r.plummer@bath.ac.uk
Dr D. Andrew S. Rees Reader in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6775 d.a.s.rees@bath.ac.uk
Dr Andrew Rhead Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6373 a.t.rhead@bath.ac.uk
Dr Kevin Robinson Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 5946 k.robinson@bath.ac.uk
Dr Carl Sangan Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 3316 c.m.sangan@bath.ac.uk
Dr James Scobie Lecturer in Mechancial Engineering 01225 38 6432
Dr Alborz Shokrani Chaharsooghi Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6588 a.shokrani@bath.ac.uk
Professor Jamie Turner Professor of Engines and Energy Systems 01225 38 3466 j.turner@bath.ac.uk
Professor Richard Trask Professor of Advanced Materials 01225 38 3412 r.s.trask@bath.ac.uk
Dr Zhijin Wang Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 4311 z.wang@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mike Wilson Senior Lecturer in Mechanical Engineering, Director of Undergraduate Studies 01225 38 6325 m.wilson@bath.ac.uk
Dr HaNa Yu Lecturer in Future Manufacturing Engineering  

Fellows and academic related

Name Title Phone Email
Andrew Avent Teaching Fellow 01225 38 3542
Dr Steve Cayzer Senior Teaching Fellow in Mechanical Engineering, Director of Postgraduate Studies (Taught) 01225 38 6533 s.cayzer@bath.ac.uk
Andrew Green Manufacturing Engineer 01225 38 5924 a.h.green@bath.ac.uk
Dr Hamideh Khanbareh
Prize Fellow in Mechanical Engineering
01225 38 4643
h.khanbareh@bath.ac.uk
Dr Oliver Pountney Prize Fellow in Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 5596 o.j.pountney@bath.ac.uk
Jens Roesner Technical Manager CPTMC 01225 38 6462 j.roesner@bath.ac.uk
Rod Valentine Teaching Fellow in Design 01225 38 3878 r.m.valentine@bath.ac.uk
Dr Paolo Tamburrano Marie Curie Fellow   p.tamburrano@bath.ac.uk
Dr Yan Zhang Marie Curie Fellow  

Honorary Fellows

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Kevin Edge Honorary Fellow, Centre for Power Transmission and Motion Control   k.a.edge@bath.ac.uk
Vice Admiral Sir Robert Hill FREng Lecturer in Reliability, Project Management, Nuclear Engineering n/a n/a

Honorary Professors

Name Title Phone Email
Roy Quilliam Honorary Professor of Mechanical Engineering    rq219@bath.ac.uk

Visiting Academics

Name Title
Dr Tim Adlam Visiting Lecturer
Professor Jonathan Colton Visiting Professor
Professor Brian Cumming Visiting Professor
Professor Grey Giddins Visiting Professor
Professor Jeffery Jupp Visiting Professor
Professor Michael Manley Visiting Professor
Professor Geoff McFarland Visiting Professor
Professor Richard Pearson Visiting Professor
Professor John Price Visiting Professor
Professor Necip Sahinkaya Visiting Professor
Professor Hans Schmotzer Visiting Professor
Professor Ming Po Tham Visiting Professor

Research staff

Name Title Phone Email
Saeed Asghari KTP Associate

 

s.asghari@bath.ac.uk
Joshua Ashby Research Assistant  
Anna Baker Research Assistant  
Simon Bates Research Assistant  
Mario Bolien Research Assistant  

David Canepa Talamas Research Assistant  
Dhruv Chandel Research Assistant  
Edward Chappell Research Associate   e.c.chappell@bath.ac.uk
Zhihang Chen Research Assistant  
Dr Nicola Chiereghin Research Associate  
Dr Rizwan Choudhry Research Associate 01225 38 5962
Bjorn Cleton Research Associate 01225 38 6278
Sam Cooper Research Associate 01225 38 5366 s.cooper2@bath.ac.uk
Allan Cox Research Associate 01225 38 6860 a.cox@bath.ac.uk
Davide di Blasio Research Assistant  
Tomasz Duda Research Associate  
Wesley Essink Research Assistant   w.p.essink@bath.ac.uk
Karl Giles Research Assistant 01225 38 4636
Dmitri Ginzburg Research Associate  
Emily Glover Research Associate   e.glover@bath.ac.uk
Dr Kes Gopalan Research Associate  
Reza Imani Asrai Research Associate 01225 38 4049 r.imani.asrai@bath.ac.uk
Dr Robin Jones Research Assistant 01225 38 6278 r.r.jones@bath.ac.uk
Dr Ian Kennedy Research Associate - MITRE  
Dr Andrew Lewis Research Fellow 01225 38 4636 a.g.j.lewis@bath.ac.uk
Zheng Liu Research Assistant (PT)  
Tom Llewellyn-Jones Reserach Assistant  
Dr Chris Lusty Resarch Associate  
Dr Alisdair MacLeod Research Associate  
Gian-Piero Malfense Fierro Research Associate - ALAMSA 01225 38 6524
Pratoy Mitra Resarch Assistant  
Dr Jody Muelaner Research Fellow   j.e.muelaner@bath.ac.uk
Dr Jonathan Norman Research Fellow 01225 38 5164 j.b.norman@bath.ac.uk
Jamie O'Hare Research Associate   j.o'hare@bath.ac.uk
Simon Orchard
Resarch Assistant   s.c.orchard@bath.ac.uk
Sophie Parsons Research Associate   s.c.parsons@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mario Patinios Research Assistant   m.patinios@bath.ac.uk
Dr Simon Pickering Research Fellow 01225 38 4801 s.g.pickering@bath.ac.uk
Dr Katarzyna Polak-Krasna Research Associate  
Bernard Roe Experimental Officer 01225 38 4816 b.j.roe@bath.ac.uk
Jens Roesner Technical Manager 01225 38 6462 j.roesner@bath.ac.uk
Dr Zuhayr Rymansaib Research Assistant  
Dr Nathan Sell Research Associate  
Hui Tang Research Associate  
Matthew Turner Research Assistant  
Ramkumar Vijayakumar Research Associate  
Dr Giovanni Vorraro Resarch Associate  
Zheng Wang Research Officer   z.wang2@bath.ac.uk
Dr Mengying Xie Research Associate - NEMESIS   m.xie@bath.ac.uk
Fangda Xu Research Assistant  
Dr Yang Zhang Research Associate  
Dr Sipeng Zhu Research Associate 01225 38 6058

Emeritus Professors

Name Title Phone Email
Professor Alan Bramley Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6332 A.N.Bramley@bath.ac.uk
Professor Cliff Burrows Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6935 C.R.Burrows@bath.ac.uk
Professor Giles Hunt Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6796 G.W.Hunt@bath.ac.uk
Professor Brian McEnaney Emeritus Professor of Materials Science and Engineering n/a B.McEnaney@bath.ac.uk
Professor Tony Medland Emeritus Professor of Engineering Design 01225 38 6462 A.J.Medland@bath.ac.uk
Professor Tony Mileham Emeritus Professor of Manufacturing 01225 38 6462 A.R.Mileham@bath.ac.uk
Professor Mike Owen Emeritus Professor of Mechanical Engineering 01225 38 6227 J.M.Owen@bath.ac.uk