Update from Council on 7 Jul

The following issues were discussed at the Council meeting on 7 July 2016:

Institute for Policy Research (IPR): Professor Nick Pearce, Director of IPR, gave a presentation on the IPR and plans for the future.

Foreign Languages Centre: The Chair of Council received a petition before the meeting relating to the proposed changes to some elements of foreign language teaching and there was a discussion at the meeting about the rationale for the changes.

The President & Vice-Chancellor presented a report on key issues for the University including the recent EU Referendum result and its implications and Council decided that a statement would be issued endorsing what I have said to staff and students.

Staff Survey: The Director of Human Resources presented an initial report on the 2016 Staff Survey and the procedure for action planning over the coming months.

Risk: Council approved a new Risk Register and Risk Management Plan 2016.

Finance: Council approved revised Financial Forecasts for 2015/16; estimates of Income and Expenditure for 2016/17 and forecasts for the period to 2020/21; the HEFCE Financial Forecasts and Commentary for submission to HEFCE; and an increase of 2.8% in undergraduate tuition fees for new and continuing Home/EU students in 2017/18. It also approved the annual payment of fees to the University’s External Auditor.

Building developments: Council was given an update on capital projects.

Research Integrity: Council approved the Annual Statement on Research Integrity 2015/16 which shows compliance with UUK’s Concordat to Support Research Integrity.

HEA Postgraduate Research Experience Survey: Council discussed an update from Professor Jonathan Knight on the actions being taken to improve the student experience for research students.

Athena SWAN: Council noted the Athena SWAN annual report.

Ordinance 9.4: Council approved an amendment to Ordinance 9.4 to authorise inclusion of the Students’ Union Postgraduate Officer as a member of Senate.

Senior Academic Appointments: Council approved the appointment of Professor David Galbreath as Dean of the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences for one year from 1 August 2016 and also approved the remaining appointments of Heads of Department. The list of HoDs will be updated in August and published on the Staff Homepage.

Council Membership: Dr Steve Wharton has been elected by Academic Assembly as a Senate member on Council for three years from 1 August 2016.

Retiring members: On behalf of Council, the Chair thanked those members whose last meeting of Council this was: Dr Michael Carley, Mrs Ruth Foreman, Mr Mark Hawkesworth, Mr Raoul Hughes, Ms Kate Robinson and Mr Roger Whorrod; and also Professor Colin Grant, and Mr Ian Robinson (SU Chief Executive) who has just been awarded a Lifetime Achievement Award by the National Union of Students.

Bookmark with:

What is this?