Academic promotions - Senior lecturers

Congratulations to the following staff who have been promoted to Senior Lecturer:

  • Dr Araxi Urrutia (Biology & Biochemistry)
    Araxi’s research focuses on uncovering the genes which have played an important role in the evolution of  complex phenotypes in eukaryotic species. Araxi's research has been funded by the Royal Society and the Schinazi Foundation. Araxi has played an active role in promoting gender balance in STEMM departments since joining the University in 2007.
  • Dr Anita McGrogan (Pharmacy & Pharmacology)
    Anita's research uses the Clinical Practice Research Datalink (CPRD) to investigate the safety of medications taken during pregnancy, in terms of outcomes for the mother and child and she works on methods to model this type of data. Anita also has a developing interest in using the CPRD to investigate treatments and outcomes in people with dementia. Anita is a member of a consortium appointed by the European Medicines Agency to undertake pharmacoepidemiology and effectiveness studies. Anita teaches evidence-based medicine and statistics in the Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology.
  • Dr Chris Dawson (School of Management)
    Chris' research is positioned at the intersection of empirical labour economics and behavioural economics. The unifying conceptualisation his research seeks to develop is the understanding of how atypical labour markets operate, perform and are generated using both concepts from traditional microeconomic theory and more modern behavioural economic theory. Chris has also undertaken work for the Low Pay Commission, with his work significantly impacting on the setting of the 2014/2015 and 2015/2016 UK National Minimum Wage.
  • Dr J Robert Branston (School of Management)
    Rob’s research interests centre on how diverse interests are served by differing approaches to governance and regulation, and how the public interest can be best attained in different settings. His recent work has focused on the settings of local economic development and the tobacco industry. Rob acts as the Deputy-Director of the Centre of Governance and Regulation, and is the Director of Studies for the BSc Business Administration programme.  He has also won several teaching prizes, including being voted one of the winners of Student Unions' ‘You’re Awesome’ awards in 2013/14.
  • Dr Melina Freitag (Mathematical Sciences)
    Melina's research interests cover numerical linear algebra and its application to problems in scientific computing, inverse problems and data assimilation. Most of her work focusses on understanding convergence of iterative methods for linear systems, stability analysis, and model order reduction, issues that arise in almost any situation when a large problem needs to be solved on a computer. Externally Melina serves on the Editorial Board of the SIAM Journal on Matrix Analysis and Applications and was elected Program Director of the SIAM Activity Group on Linear Algebra 2016-2018. She was nominated for the John Willis award for significant contribution to teaching, pastoral support and student supervision in 2014.
  • Dr Aurelien Mondon (PoLIS)
    Aurelien’s research interests focus predominantly on the mainstreaming of far right politics, particularly through the use of populism and racism in elite discourse and their impact on democracy.  He is currently Director of Learning & Teaching in PoLIS.
  • Dr Chris Blenkinsopp (ACE)
    Chris’ primary research interests focus on field and laboratory studies of coastal engineering, coastal processes, remote-sensing and marine renewables.  Chris is currently involved in major international collaborative research projects funded by EPSRC, Australian Research Council and the EU, and is organising the 2017 UK Young Coastal Scientists & Engineers conference.  He teaches primarily in the fields of water engineering and surveying.
  • Dr John Troyer (SPS)
    John’s research interests cover the dead body’s relationship with technology, science and technology studies, and critical design solutions. Externally John is recognised as an international expert on definitions of death, the use of human body parts and organs, and creative technology use in cemeteries. He was voted University of Bath Students' Union Teacher of the Year in in 2013-14 and 2015-2016. John is a frequent BBC commentator.
  • Dr Susan Crennell (Biology & Biochemistry)
    Susan's research expertise is protein crystallography, particularly of enzymes, collaborating with several groups across the University to enhance their research programmes through the mechanistic insight gained from protein structures. She has recently devised and convened a new all-year first year skills unit incorporating  practical work into mini-projects and linking these with tutorial and key skills provision. I am an advocate for research-informed teaching, both subject-specific and pedagogical, a Bath Course Tutor, Senior Observer and SFHEA. Within Natural Sciences, Susan has devised a new Biochemistry stream for Natural Sciences which has proved a popular choice for students.
  • Dr Ben Adams (Mathematical Sciences)
    Ben has broad interests in mathematical biology. Mostly his research involves the development and analysis of mathematical models for infectious disease epidemiology and evolution. He is particularly interested in the eco-epidemiology of arthropod-borne infections such as dengue and Lyme borreliosis.
  • Dr Mark Opmeer (Mathematical Sciences)
    Mark's research interests are in the area of mathematics called "analysis" with applications to control theory and model reduction. He is currently Associate Editor for IEEE Transactions on Automatic Control and for Systems and Control Letters. In addition to teaching on the mathematics degree programmes, he has also taught mathematics for Chemical Engineering.
  • Dr Lorenzo Caggiano (Pharmacy & Pharmacology)
    Dr Lorenzo Caggiano is a Senior Lecturer in Medicinal Chemistry and Director of Postgraduate Studies at the Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology. His research interests lie in the design and efficient chemical synthesis of new medicines which are inspired from compounds found in nature. He received the John Willis Award in 2015 in recognition of his dedication to the academic and personal lives of students combined with a significant contribution to teaching and accomplishment in his research.
  • Dr Paul De Bank (Pharmacy & Pharmacology)
    Paul’s research interests focus on tissue engineering, regenerative medicine and advanced drug delivery, all underpinned by a background in both the biological and chemical sciences. He teaches a range of subjects across the Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology’s degree programmes and has been heavily involved in the development of the new MPharm degree. He was nominated for the John Willis Award in 2016.
  • Dr Sukumar Natarajan (ACE)
    Sukumar’s research focuses on delivering healthy and comfortable low-carbon buildings that perform well into the future. This includes work on smart building technology, energy feedback, minimising occupant thermal stress and PassivHaus design. He is Co-Director of Bath's EPSRC Centre for Doctoral Training on Decarbonisation of the Built Environment (dCarb) and was awarded an Excellence in Teaching award by the University of Bath and Students’ Union in 2015-16.

Bookmark with:

What is this?