Full list of University of Bath staff, alumni and honorary graduates in 2017 New Year's Honours list

Nine honorary graduates, two alumni, two current members of staff, and one former, were among those recognised in the Queen's New Year's Honours list. They included the first athlete to run a four minute mile, an internationally-recognised photographer, an acclaimed military historian, one of the 'Gang of Four' politicians who set up the Social Democratic Party in the 1980s, a former Liberal Democrat minister and Gloucestershire MP, a broadcaster, the chief executive of the British Paralympic Association, and an explorer.

Knight Commander of the Victorian Order (KCVO)

Dr David Kim Hempleman-Adams, LVO, OBE (Honorary LLD, 1998)

For services to The Duke of Edinburgh’s Award Scheme.

Members of the Order of the Companions of Honour

Sir Roger Gilbert Bannister, CBE (Honorary DSc, 1984)

For services to Sport. (Oxfordshire)

The Right Honourable the Lady Helen Mary Warnock, DBE (Honorary DLitt, 1987)

For services to charity and Children with Special Educational Needs. (London)

The Right Honourable Baroness Shirley Vivian Teresa Brittain Williams (Honorary DLitt, 1980)

For services to political and public life. (Hertfordshire)


Knighthoods (KT)

Don McCullin receives his DArts

Antony James Beevor (Honorary DLitt, 2010)

Military Historian and Author. For services in support of Armed Forces Professional Development. (London)

Anthony Beevor receives his DLtt - Video

Donald McCullin, CBE (Honorary DArts, 2011)

Photojournalist. For services to Photography. (Somerset)

Donald McCullin (pictured left) receives his DArts - Video

The Right Honourable Steven John Webb (Professor of Social Policy, 1995-1997)

For political and public service. (Gloucestershire)


Commanders of the Order of the British Empire (CBE)

Luke Philip Hardwick Rittner (Honorary DArts, 2004)

Chief Executive, Royal Academy of Dance. For services to the Arts particularly Dance. (London)

Officers of the Order of the British Empire (OBE)

Mrs Diane Aderyn (Current staff)

Director of Finance and Commercial Services, University of Bath. For services to Higher Education. (Bradford on Avon, Wiltshire)

(Timothy) Tim Philip Hollingsworth (Honorary LLD, 2014)

Chief Executive Officer, British Paralympic Association. For services to Sport. (Bath, Somerset)

Ms (Margaret) Maggie Elizabeth Philbin (Honorary DSc, 2015)

Chief Executive Officer and Co-founder, TeenTech. For services to Promoting careers in STEM and Creative Industries. (London)

Professor (Teresa Margaret) Tess Ridge (Current staff)

Professor of Social Policy, University of Bath. For services to the Social Sciences. (Shepton Mallet, Somerset)

Dr Hakim Yadi (BSc Biology w Plcmt, 2006)

Chief Executive Officer, Northern Health Science Alliance. For services to Healthcare Technology and the Economy. (London)

Members of the Order of the British Empire (MBE)

Anthony Peter Wilson (BSc Building Engineering, 1979)

Director, AECOM. For services to Building and Engineering. (Dunstable, Bedfordshire)

Bookmark with:

What is this?

We are one of the UK's leading universities with an international reputation for quality research and teaching. Our Mission is to deliver world class research and teaching, educating our graduates to become future leaders and innovators, and benefiting the wider population through our research, enterprise and influence. Our courses are innovative and interdisciplinary and we have an outstanding record of graduate employment.