Related Links

» submit an item · an event

Internal News - 25 April 2005

Russell accepts post to establish links abroad

Philip Russell, the Physics professor who heads the University’s research in photonic crystal fibres, has accepted a position as Director in the newly formed Max Planck Research Group for Optics, Information and Photonics at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, Germany.

This appointment, which will commence on 1 October 2005, will be joint with the University of Bath, where Professor Russell will continue to work part-time with the Photonics & Photonic Materials Group (PPMG).

Professor Russell plans to gear the generously funded Max-Planck research to the work of the Photonics & Photonic Materials Group in Bath's Department of Physics. He hopes to use the opportunities opened up by his new appointment to develop a strong Bath-Max-Planck research axis that will become a leading player on the European and international photonics scene. Both universities strongly support the plan.

The photonics group studies the interaction of light and matter, with a particular emphasis on nanostructured materials. It was recently awarded a £2.68 million research grant from EPSRC to explore novel science and new applications of photonic crystal fibres.

Professor Russell obtained his DPhil at the University of Oxford and subsequently worked in research laboratories and universities in Germany, the USA, France and the UK before joining the University of Bath in 1996 and starting the photonics group. He has over 500 publications and holds a substantial number of patents in many aspects of photonics.

“My new appointment will create a firm research link between the University of Bath and the Max Planck Research Group at the University of Erlangen-Nuremberg, to the benefit of both institutions,” said Professor Russell.

“I am delighted with this new development and am sure that it will result in a further enhancement of the internationally-leading photonics research carried out at both universities.”

The Photonics and Photonic Materials Research Group - LtR: Dr Stefan Maier, Dr Tim Birks, Prof David Bird, Prof Philip Russell, Prof Jonathan Knight, Dr William Wadsworth, Dr Fetah Benabid and Dr Dmitry Skryabin