Related Links

For further information,
please contact:
Vicky Just
University Press Office
44 (0)1225 38 6883
44 (0)7966 341 357

» submit an item · an event

Professor Cliff Burrows OBE
Professor Cliff Burrows has been awarded the ASME 2008 Robert E. Koski Medal

Internal News - 09 October 2008

Professor receives award for contributions to fluid power research

Professor Cliff Burrows OBE has received a prestigious award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineering (ASME) for his outstanding contribution to research and education in the field of fluid power motion and control.

Professor Burrows, former Director of the University’s Centre for Power Transmission & Control, was awarded the ASME 2008 Robert E. Koski Medal for outstanding and sustained contributions to research and education in the field of fluid power motion and control. This technology is applied extensively in aerospace, sea and land transport as well as in a wide range of industrial equipment.

Professor Burrows was appointed Director of the Fluid Power Centre in 1987, later renamed the Centre for Power Transmission & Motion Control, and remained in this post until 2005. The centre’s outstanding quality of research and its strong industrial links were recognised in 2001 with a Queen’s Anniversary Prize for Higher and Further Education.

In addition, Professor Burrows was Head of the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University from 1990-1995 before becoming inaugural Hebron and Medlock Dean of the Faculty of Engineering & Design until 2002.Now in semi-retirement, he is a research professor and chairman of the University’s Innovative Manufacturing Research Centre.

Professor Cliff Burrows has published 250 papers in journals and conference proceedings and was elected a Fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering in 1998.He was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List in 2005 for services to higher education and engineering.

The Koski Medal was presented at the Bath/ASME Symposium on Fluid Power & Motion Control (FPMC 2008) held on 10-12 September. This was the 21st in a series of annual International Symposia held at the University, but the first time that it was jointly sponsored by ASME, an international society that promotes the art, science and practice of mechanical and multidisciplinary engineering.