Related Links

Yvonne Elson
Tel 6777

» submit an item · an event

Tom Newman receives his prize from the Vice-Chancellor
Tom Newman receives his prize from the Vice-Chancellor

Internal News - 28 April 2008

ICIA Arts Awards 2008

The University celebrated the achievements of its arts and cultural life over the last year at its annual ICIA Arts Awards hosted by the Vice-Chancellor last week. Seven students received awards before more than 120 guests.

The Vice-Chancellor, Professor Glynis Breakwell, said: “This prize-giving event is a celebration not only of the high standards achieved by the recipients of the prizes, but also the vibrancy of the arts at this University. We have a huge numbers of students who participate in a range of arts activities, illustrating how important the arts are to them as a complement to their studies. It gives us great pleasure to recognise their commitment to sustaining an arts community on campus.”

John Struthers, Director of ICIA, which runs the arts programme and supports a range of arts activities on campus, added: "ICIA has now expanded its work, running seminars, professional development for artists, commissioning work, placing artists in academic departments and working on a whole range of exciting developments. But central to all of our work is supporting and encouraging the arts activities of our students.

“The arts can simply provide pleasure and entertain, they can also provide opportunities for students to interact and work together to achieve goals, allow people to experiment with new ideas and provide students with a range of skills and achievements that will serve them well whatever they decide to do with the rest of their lives. This University leads the field nationally with the opportunities that we are able to offer and the achievements of the students that have won awards tonight are really something to celebrate."

The prize winners were as follows:

Marjorie Vandelinde Prize: Tom Newman, Department of Social & Policy Sciences

This award identifies the student who has shown not only commitment and development in one or more areas of arts activity but has also encouraged and facilitated the participation of others. They will have been responsible, through their openness, hard work and encouragement, for the participation of large numbers of other students across more than one art form.

Tom has been involved in the arts since arriving at the University. His great passion is theatre and was Chair of the student theatre society (BUST) in his second year. Participating in a variety of workshops, he is always encouraging others to get involved in the arts and as the SU Arts Officer this year has organised an extremely successful Show in a Week, established the ‘arts on campus’ website and has written regularly for the student paper Impact.

Tom has performed in several shows and last year toured with BUST to a number of festival venues around the country. Inspired by this experience he is now working to organise a Student Fringe Festival in conjunction with Bath Festivals and ICIA, which will enable groups from other Universities to performing at this level. Tom is an inspiration and works tirelessly to raise the profile of arts on campus.

Bishop Prize for Dance: Andy Tapping, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering

Peter Redfern Prize for Theatre: Yvonne Paulley, Department of Mathematical Sciences

Alan Bramley Prize for Music: Tim Lai, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering

Wayman-Horne Prize for Visual Arts: Michael Grogan, Department of Physics

Bath University Students’ Union Prize for Production: Tom McLean, Department of Mathematical Sciences

ICIA Participation Prize: Sophie Wahlich, Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology

Those attending the celebrations included key members of staff who continue to support the work of the ICIA; members of the Students' Union executive and its General Manager, Ian Robinson; long-standing supporters of the arts; and a number of prize-funders. Guests included Cllr Marian McNeir, Bath & North East Somerset Council; Professor Peter Redfern, who was formerly Director of the School for Health, who is funding the Bishop Prize for Theatre; and Professor and Mrs Alan Bramley who fund the Alan Bramley Prize for Music.