Department of Physics

physics banner 1

Staff and contacts

Department of Physics
University of Bath
Claverton Down
Bath BA2 7AY
United Kingdom
tel: +44 (0) 1225 385579
fax: +44(0) 1225 386110

Admissions enquiries

For general Physics Undergraduate enquiries please email: g.mathlin@bath.ac.uk

For more specific queries on admission procedures please email: admissions@bath.ac.uk

For Postgraduate research enquiries please email: pgphys.admissions@bath.ac.uk

Academic staff

Professor Carole Mundell | C.G.Mundell@bath.ac.uk
Head of the Department
Wessex House 3.53

Professor Simon Bending | S.Bending@bath.ac.uk
Postgraduate Admissions Tutor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5173 | 3 West 3.6

Dr Steve Andrews | S.R.Andrews@bath.ac.uk
Senior lecturer
tel: +44-(0)1225 38 6651 | 3 West 5.9

Professor David Bird | D.Bird@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3383 | 3 West 3.11A

Professor Tim Birks | T.A.Birks@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4711 | 3 West 3.17b

Dr John Bissell | J.Bissell@bath.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow
tel: +44 (0)1225 386645  | 3 West 3.11

Dr Philippe Blondel | P.Blondel@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5237| Wessex House 3.46

Dr Stephen Clark | s.r.clark@bath.ac.uk
Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4539| 3 West 2.2a

Professor Paul Coleman | P.G.Coleman@bath.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor

Dr Simon Crampin | S.Crampin@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4808 | Wessex House 3.41

Dr Enrico Da Como |
Reader
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4368 | Wessex House 3.40

Professor John Davies | J.J.Davies@bath.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor
3 West 3.3b

Dr Steven Davies | S.R.Davies@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer/ Director of Studies for Maths & Physics
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6472 | 3 West 4.20

Dr Hendrik van Eerten | H.J.Van.Eerten@bath.ac.uk
Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3193 | Wessex House 3.48

Dr Andrey Gorbach |
Lecturer/Director of Studies Years 3 & 4
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6307 | 3 West 3.3A

Dr Sergey Gordeev | S.Gordeev@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer/Director of Postgraduate Studies
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5154 | 3 West 4.17

Dr Adelina Ilie | A.Ilie@bath.ac.uk
Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6898 | 3 West 4.16

Dr Rob Jack | R.Jack@bath.ac.uk
Reader
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3132 | 3 West 2.2E

Dr Dick James | R.James@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5467 | 3 West 2.2D

Professor Jonathan Knight | J.C.Knight@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3042 | 3 West 3.17a

Dr Frances Laughton | F.R.Laughton@bath.ac.uk
Director of Teaching and Resources
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4361 | 3 West 3.16

Dr Gary Mathlin | G.Mathlin@bath.ac.uk
Director of Studies Years 1 & 2 / Admissions Tutor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6441 | 3 West 3.4

Dr Peter Mosley |
Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4567 | 3 West 4.5c

Dr Marcin Mucha-Kruczynski | m.mucha-kruczynski@bath.ac.uk
Prize Fellow
tel: +44 (0) 1225 38 5543 | 3 West 5.3

Dr Alistair Muir | a.c.muir@bath.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6797 | 1 West 1.05

Dr Alessandro Narduzzo | A.Narduzzo@bath.ac.uk
Teaching Fellow
tel: +44 (0)1225 385395 | 3 West 5.2

Dr Alain Nogaret | A.R.Nogaret@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5609 | 3 West 4.19

Professor Nicholas Pace | N.G.Pace@bath.ac.uk
Emeritus Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3113 | 3 West 5.10

Professor Philip Salmon | P.S.Salmon@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3698 | 3 West 5.1

Dr Victoria Scowcroft | V.Scowcroft@bath.ac.uk
Prize Fellow
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3042 | 3 West 3.17A

Professor Dmitry Skryabin | D.V.Skryabin@bath.ac.uk
Professor
3 West 3.15

Dr Peter Sloan | P.Sloan@bath.ac.uk
Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4566 | 3 West 4.5b

Dr Paul Snow | P.A.Snow@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6897 | 3 South 0.01

Dr Kei Takashina | K.Takashina@bath.ac.uk
Academic Fellow
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5395 | 3 West 5.2

Dr Ventsislav Valev | V.K.Valev@bath.ac.uk
Royal Society Research Fellow/Reader
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3370  | 3 West 2.2B

Dr Carolin Villforth | c.villforth@bath.ac.uk
Lecturer
Wessex House 3.49

Professor William Wadsworth | W.J.Wadsworth@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6946 | 3 West 3.14

Professor Alison Walker | A.B.Walker@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3322 | 3 West 3.5

Professor Nigel Wilding | N.B.Wilding@bath.ac.uk
Professor
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 4164 | 3 West 2.2C

Dr Daniel Wolverson | D.Wolverson@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3321 | 3 West 2.4

Dr Stijn Wuyts | s.wuyts@bath.ac.uk
Senior Lecturer
tel: +44(0)1225 38 4598  | Wessex House 3.51

Dr Anita Zeidler | a.zeidler@bath.ac.uk
Royal Society EPSRC Dorothy Hodgkin Research Fellow
 

Administration

Joanna Ɓucyszyn | j.z.lucyszyn@bath.ac.uk
Department Coordinator
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5579 | 3 West 3.1

Santina Kennedy | s.kennedy@bath.ac.uk
UG Programmes Administrator
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3673 | 3 West 3.1

Pippa McLernon | p.mcLernon@bath.ac.uk
UG Programmes Officer
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 3673 | 3 West 3.1 (Mondays and Tuesdays)

Gaynor Henry | g.henry@bath.ac.uk
Faculty Placements Officer
tel: +44(0)1225 38 5862 | Wessex House 1.13

Jessica Ohren | j.m.ohren@bath.ac.uk
Centre for Doctoral Training Administrator
tel: +44(0)1225 38 5631 | 4 West 1.16

Technical staff

Dr Ashley Brewer | A.J.Brewer@bath.ac.uk 
UG Laboratory & Safety Coordinator
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6522 | 3 West 3.19

Richard Cousins | R.Cousins@bath.ac.uk
Technician
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6956 | 3 West 2.20A

Dr Simon Dodd |
Computing Services Supporter
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5858 | 3 West 4.3a

Martin Fullick | M.B.Fullick@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Teaching & Research
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5175 | 3 West 3.20C

Alan George | A.K.George@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Technical Manager
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6572/6446 | 3 West N 2.4D, 3 West 4.5a
Mobile: +44 (0)7891 790171

Wendy Lambson | W.A.Lambson@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Research
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6442 | 3 West 5.3A

Paul Reddish | P.Reddish@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Research
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5147 | 3 West 1.5a

Steven Renshaw | S.Renshaw@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Research
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6572 | 3 West N2.4D

Dr Stephen Wedge | S.Wedge@bath.ac.uk
Technician - Research
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 6956 | 3 West 2.20

Isabel Wells | i.wells@bath.ac.uk
UG Laboratory & Departmental Support Technician
tel: +44 (0)1225 38 5369 | 3 West 3.21

Dr Jennifer Williams | J.Williams@bath.ac.uk
Undergraduate Laboratory & Departmental Support Technician
tel: +44 (0)1225 38  | 3 West 3.23

Research staff

Dr Gazimagomed Aliev
Researcher
e-mail: pysga@bath.ac.uk

Dr Ashok Chauhan
Research Associate
e-mail: asc26@bath.ac.uk

Dr Peter Curran
Research Officer
e-mail: P.J.Curran@bath.ac.uk

Dr Sara Dale
Research Associate
e-mail: S.Dale@bath.ac.uk

Dr Robert (Jamie) Francis-Jones
Research Associate
email: rjafj20@bath.ac.uk

Dibya Ghosh
Research Associate
e-mail: dg617@bath.ac.uk

Dr Guillermo Jimenez
KTP Associate (KTP)
e-mail: gj302@bath.ac.uk

Dr Simon O'Kane
Research Associate
e-mail: sejok20@bath.ac.uk

Dr James Stone
Research Officer
e-mail: J.M.Stone@bath.ac.uk

Dr Ian Thompson
Research Associate
e-mail: irt21@bath.ac.uk

Dr Tom Underwood
Research Associate
e-mail: T.L.Underwood@bath.ac.uk

Dr James Webb
Research Associate
e-mail: J.L.Webb@bath.ac.uk

Dr Stephanos Yerolatsitis
Research Associate
e-mail: sy231@bath.ac.uk

Dr Fei Yu
Research Officer
e-mail: F.Yu@bath.ac.uk