Dr. Fetah Benabid

Contact Details

Photo of Fetah
Fetah Benabid

+44 (0)1225 38 6307


Research Interests
Gas-Laser Devices


Fetah Benabid is an EPSRC Advanced Fellow and Reader. He did his PhD at the University of Western Australia on high precision optical metrology of sapphire-based components for interferometric gravitational wave detectors. He has been at the University of Bath since 2001. He has developed new fabrication techniques for hollow core photonic crystal fibre (HC-PCF), enabling the production of HC-PCF with a very high air-filling fraction whilst keeping its structural integrity.

He has been a pioneer in incorporating these fibres into scientific and technological applications, which includes the demonstration of stimulated Raman scattering (SRS) in hydrogen filled HC-PCF with pump powers one million times lower than those required using conventional techniques. He was at the forefront in demonstrating electromagnetically-induced transparency (EIT) in molecular gases such as acetylene. More recently he has developed a novel technology capable of fabricating compact and all-fibre integrable HC-PCF based gas cells, with which he has demonstrated a number of quantum and nonlinear effects.

His current research activities focus on nonlinear and coherent optics (e.g. EIT and molecular modulation) in gas-phase filled HC-PCFs, and the development of new types of HC-PCFs. In recognition of the significance of his work he was awarded the European Physical Society Fresnel Prize in 2005 "for his pioneering work on the development of hollow core photonic crystal fibres and their application in laser-guidance of particles and ultra-low threshold stimulated Raman scattering in molecular gases".


CPPM Members

Group Photo
Former Members

Academic Staff

David Bird
Tim Birks
Enrico Da Como
Andrey Gorbach
Jonathan Knight
Peter Mosley
Dmitry Skryabin
Paul Snow
Ventsi Valev
William Wadsworth


Ben Cemlyn
Fernando Favero
Daniele Di Nuzzo
Itandehui Gris Sanchez
Gaby Slavcheva
Jim Stone
Fei Yu

PhD Students

Sam Bateman
Stefan Fischbach
Jamie Francis-Jones
Clarissa Harvey
Rosdi Hassan
Adrian Love
Pshko Mohammed
James Roper
Stephanos Yerolatsitis

Technical Staff

Alan George
Wendy Lambson
Steve Renshaw

Former Members

Meshaal Alharbi
Gazi Aliev
Greg Antonopoulos
Walter Belardi
Fetah Benabid
Chris Benton
Fabio Biancalana
Tom Bradley
Mathew Burnett
Yong Chen
Kevin Cook
Rodrigo Correa
Francois Couny
Martina Delgado-Pinar
Wei Ding
Tianqi Dong
Gordon Gong
Michael Grogan
Frédéric Gérôme
Robin Hartley
Gareth Hobbs
Wencai Huang
Georges Humbert
Hou Jing
Nicolas Joly
George Kakarantzas
Alexandre Kudlinski
Ke Lai
Laure Lavote
Sergio Leon-Saval
Philip Light
Feng Luan
Stefan Maier
Andrea Marini
Alex McMillan
Carles Milián
Purnananda Nandi
Charles de Nobriga
Greg Pearce
John Pottage
Alexandre Reinhardt
John Roberts
Matthew Rollings
Philip Russell
Owain Staines
Weimin Sun
Leigh-Anne Thomas
Yingying Wang
Aimin Wang
Zefeng Wang
Matthew Welch
Natalie Wheeler
Agata Witkowska
Limin Xiao
Chunle Xiong
Alexey Yulin
Xuesong Zhao