# University of Bath Faculty of Science



Meeting BOARD OF STUDIES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE

Place Council Chamber

Date Wednesday 22 May 2019 at 14:15

Present Professor N Brook Dean of Science (Chair)

Dr R Bradford Department of Computer Science

Dr S Flower Department of Chemistry
Dr A Gorbach Department of Physics

Dr A Hayes Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)
Dr R James Deputy Head of Department of Physics

Dr M Jones Department of Chemistry

Professor E O'Neill Head of Department of Computer Science Dr A Preston Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr P Rogers Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (alternate for

Professor S G Ward)

Mr M Seddigian Postgraduate Taught Representative (Biology and Biochemistry)

Dr P Snow Head of Natural Sciences

Dr G Stothart Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor D Tosh Head of Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr J White Department of Mathematical Sciences

In attendance Mrs M Hallett Faculty Assistant Registrar (Secretary)

Dr K Angus-Cole Curriculum Development Officer (Observer)

Mrs A L Harper Director of Administration (Observer)

Apologies Dr F Bisset Learning Partnerships Office

Professor C Bowen
Professor A Burrows
Professor F Burstall
Faculty of Engineering and Design
Head of Department of Chemistry
Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr N Fotaki Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology Dr S Gebhard Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Ms A Lobo Students' Union (SU) Sabbatical Officer (Community)

Professor P Milewski Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr F Qin School of Management

Ms E Rimmer Undergraduate Representative (Natural Sciences)
Professor S G Ward Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Professor C Wilson Associate Dean (Research)

Action

## 6775 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the previous meeting of the Board held on 3 April 2019 (Paper 206) and there were no matters arising.

#### 6776 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

The Chair reported on the following matters:

- Ede and Ravenscroft PGR Student Prize 2019 presentations by the shortlisted finalists on 23 May (at 4:30pm in 4 West 1.2).
- Professor Momna Hejmadi has been appointed as new Associate Dean for

Learning and Teaching from 2019/20. The Chair thanked Dr A Hayes for his work in this role over the past 6 years.

• The University is looking to appoint a new Vice President of Student Experience (0.6 FTE).

# 6777 STAFF STUDENT LIAISON COMMITTEE (SSLC) MEETINGS

The Board noted the minutes of the meetings held on:

**Department of Biology and Biochemistry**: 2 (PGT) (Paper 216A) and 4 (UG) (Paper 216B) April 2019.

Department of Chemistry: 10 April 2019 (Paper 217).

**Department of Computer Science** 26 March 2019 (Paper 218).

Natural Sciences 3 April 2019 (Paper 219).

**Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology** 6 March (Paper 220A) and 3 April (Paper 220B) 2019.

Department of Physics 20 March (Paper 221A) and 3 April (Paper 221B) 2019.

### 6778 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There was none.