Minutes of Meeting

University of Bath Faculty of Science



Meeting BOARD OF STUDIES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE

Place Wessex House, Council Chamber Date Friday 12 July 2019 at 14:15

Present Professor N Brook Dean of Science (Chair)

Dr F Bisset
Dr R Bradford
Professor A Burrows
Professor F Burstall
Dr S Gebhard
Learning Partnerships Office
Department of Computer Science
Head of Department of Chemistry
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr A Gorbach Department of Physics

Dr A Hayes Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)
Dr R James Deputy Head of Department of Physics

Dr M Jones Department of Chemistry

Professor P Milewski Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr A Preston Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr P Rogers Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (alternate for

Professor S G Ward)

Dr P Snow Head of Natural Sciences

Professor D Tosh Head of Department of Biology and Biochemistry

In attendance Mrs M Hallett Faculty Assistant Registrar (Secretary)

Mrs S Paine Programmes Manager (Operations) (Observer)

Mrs A L Harper Faculty of Science (Observer)

Apologies Professor C Bowen Faculty of Engineering and Design

Dr S Flower Department of Chemistry

Dr N Fotaki Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Ms A Lobo Students' Union (SU) Sabbatical Officer (Community)

Professor E O'Neill Head of Department of Computer Science

Dr F Qin School of Management

Ms E Rimmer Undergraduate Representative (Natural Sciences)
Mr M Seddiqian Postgraduate Taught Representative (Biology and

Biochemistry)

Dr G Stothart Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Professor S G Ward Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Dr J White Department of Mathematical Sciences

Professor C Wilson Associate Dean (Research)

Action

6824 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the previous meeting of the Board held on 26 June 2019 (Paper 279) and there were no matters arising.

6825 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

 The Chair thanked members for whom this would be their last meeting: Student representatives Ms Alisha Lobo, Ms Ella Rimmer and Mr Mohammad Seddigian, and staff representatives Dr Alan Hayes, Professor Eamonn O'Neill, Dr Paul Snow, and Professor Stephen Ward.

6826 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There was none.