University of Bath Faculty of Science



MeetingBOARD OF STUDIES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCEPlaceWessex House, Council ChamberDateWednesday 18 September 2019 at 14:15	
Professor N Brook Dr R Bradford Miss M Clutterbuck Professor C Frost Dr A Hayes	Dean of Science (Chair) Department of Computer Science Learning Partnerships Office (alternate for Dr F Bisset) Deputy Dean of Science Department of Computer Science (alternate for Professor E O'Neill)
Professor M Hejmadi Dr R James Professor M Jones Professor R Moser	Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching) Deputy Head of Department of Physics Department of Chemistry Department of Mathematical Sciences (alternate for Professor P Milewski)
Dr A Preston Dr P Rogers	Department of Biology and Biochemistry Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (alternate for Professor N McHugh)
Dr T Shardlow Professor D Tosh Dr J White Professor C Wilson Dr M Wright	Department of Mathematical Sciences Head of Department of Biology and Biochemistry Head of Natural Sciences Associate Dean (Research) Department of Computer Science
Mrs M Hallett Mrs A L Harper Mrs S Paine	Faculty Assistant Registrar (Secretary) Faculty of Science (Observer) Programmes Manager (Operations) (Observer)
Dr F Bisset Professor C Bowen Professor A Burrows Professor F Burstall Dr S Flower Dr N Fotaki Dr A Gorbach Professor N McHugh Professor P Milewski Professor E O'Neill Dr F Qin Dr G Stothart	Learning Partnerships Office Faculty of Engineering and Design Head of Department of Chemistry Department of Mathematical Sciences Department of Chemistry Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology Department of Physics Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences Head of Department of Computer Science School of Management Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
	Wessex House, C Wednesday 18 S Professor N Brook Dr R Bradford Miss M Clutterbuck Professor C Frost Dr A Hayes Professor M Hejmadi Dr R James Professor M Jones Professor M Jones Professor R Moser Dr A Preston Dr P Rogers Dr T Shardlow Professor D Tosh Dr J White Professor D Tosh Dr J White Professor C Wilson Dr M Wright Mrs M Hallett Mrs A L Harper Mrs S Paine Dr F Bisset Professor C Bowen Professor C Bowen Professor F Burstall Dr S Flower Dr N Fotaki Dr A Gorbach Professor P Milewski Professor E O'Neill Dr F Qin

Action

6842 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the previous meeting of the Board held on 12 July 2019 (Paper 1) and there were no matters arising.

6843 BOARD OF STUDIES MEMBERSHIP 2019/20

The Board reviewed the Board of Studies membership for 2019/20 (Paper 2), and welcomed new members Dr M Wright, Dr T Shardlow and Professor M Hejmadi.

6844 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

The Chair reported the following matters:

- Establishment of a Buildings Board to approve projects over £200k.
- NSS results 2019 were generally good for the Faculty. The Chair thanked members for their work in helping to make the result a success.
- A new MSc Mathematics with Data Science for Industry degree for 2021/22 has been approved by UEB, subject to provision of further marketing information, and will be considered by the Board at its next meeting in October.
- The VC has launched an engagement exercise (*Our University, Our Future*), comprising a series of consultation sessions for staff and students on wellbeing, student experience, internationalisation, research excellence, inclusivity and widening participation, Bath and the region and our shared purpose. Feedback from these sessions will help to inform the University's next strategic plan, to come into effect from 2021.
- The Student Complaint, Disciplinary and Dignity & Respect Policies are being rewritten.
- UG recruitment is mixed across the Faculty: Comp Sci, B&B and P&P are buoyant; Physics and Nat Sci are almost on target, and Maths and Chemistry are down, in accordance with national trends. Consequently, the Faculty may fall short of its Home target this year. A new BSc (Hons) Mathematics, Statistics and Data Science degree for 2021/22 was approved by UEB yesterday.

6845 REVIEW OF DEPARTMENT COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIPS

The Board reviewed, in accordance with the Athena SWAN University Self-Assessment Team (USAT) Action Delivery Plan, the membership of Departments':

- Executive Committee
- Learning, Teaching and Quality Committee (DLTQC)
- Research Committee

Department of Biology and Biochemistry (Paper 3)

Department of Chemistry (Paper 4)

Department of Computer Science (Paper 5)

Secretary's note: Immediately after the meeting, the DLTQC membership was updated to include a Learning Partnerships Office representative.

Department of Mathematical Sciences (Paper 6)

The Chair noted that while the Research Committee included Dr Susie Douglas (SAMBa Centre Manager) it did not include any female academic members of staff. The Chair requested that the HoD review, and report back on, this.

Secretary's note: The membership was revised immediately following the meeting to include Dr Xiuping Su as Algebra, Number Theory and Geometry representative (while Professor Gregory Sankaran is on sabbatical), as well as Dr Caroline Ang, Bath Institute for Mathematical Innovation Manager, and Anne Priest, Research Development Manager.

Natural Sciences (Paper 7)

Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (Paper 8) **Department of Physics** (Paper 9)

6846 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

There was none.