Minutes of Meeting

University of Bath Faculty of Science



Meeting BOARD OF STUDIES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE

Place 1 West, Room 3.30

Date Wednesday 9 October 2019 at 14:15

Present Professor C Frost Deputy Dean of Science (Acting Chair)

Dr R Bradford Department of Computer Science
Professor A Burrows Head of Department of Chemistry

Dr S Flower Department of Chemistry

Dr N Fotaki Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Professor M Fraser Department of Computer Science

Dr A Gorbach Department of Physics

Professor M Hejmadi Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)

Professor M Jones Department of Chemistry Mr C Lai UG student representative

Dr P Mitchell Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (alternate for

Professor N McHugh)

Dr A Preston Department of Biology and Biochemistry
Dr T Shardlow Department of Mathematical Sciences

Ms A Steane UG student representative

Professor D Tosh Head of Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr J White Head of Natural Sciences
Professor C Wilson Associate Dean (Research)
Dr M Wright Department of Computer Science

In attendance Mrs M Hallett Faculty Assistant Registrar (Secretary)

Mrs A L Harper Faculty of Science (Observer)

Mrs S Paine Programmes Manager (Operations) (Observer)

Apologies Dr F Bisset Learning Partnerships Office

Professor N Brook Dean of Science (Chair)

Professor F Burstall
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Dr R James
Deputy Head of Department of Physics
Professor T Mays
Faculty of Engineering and Design

Professor N McHugh Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Professor P Milewski Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr F Qin School of Management

Dr G Stothart Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Action

6861 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the previous meeting of the Board held on 18 September 2019 (Paper 43) and there were no matters arising.

6862 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

The Chair welcomed:

New Faculty UG student representatives Ms Amelia Steane, MSci (Hons)
 Mathematics and Physics (Year 4), and Mr Christopher Lai, MPharm (Hons)

Pharmacy (Year 3), one of whom will become a member of the Board for 2019/20.

• Professor Mike Fraser as new Head of Department of Computer Science.

6863 STAFF STUDENT LIAISON COMMITTEE (SSLC) MEETINGS

The Board noted the minutes of the meetings held on:

Department of Biology and Biochemistry PGT 15 July 2019 (Paper 49). **Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology PGT** 24 July 2019 (Paper 50).

6864 ANY OTHER BUSINESS

The Board noted the New BP Award: Women in STEM (Paper 50A).

The Board welcomed the opportunity for Faculty of Science students to benefit from the proposed prize. While it was recognised that the award would be promoted centrally, the Chair requested that HoDs ask Departments to encourage students to apply for the prize.

The Board noted possible ethical and sustainability implications associated with acceptance of funding from fossil fuel companies.