Action

University of Bath Faculty of Science



Meeting BOARD OF STUDIES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE

Place Microsoft Teams

Date Tuesday 29 June 2021 at 14:15

Present Professor N Brook Dean of Science (Chair)

Dr R Bradford Department of Computer Science Professor A Burrows Head of Department of Chemistry

Dr S Flower Department of Chemistry

Professor M Fraser Department of Computer Science

Dr A Gorbach Department of Physics

Professor M Heimadi Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching)

Dr R James Head of Department of Physics Professor M Jones Department of Chemistry

Mr K Maharaj Undergraduate student representative Professor T Mays Faculty of Engineering and Design

Professor N McHugh Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Professor P Milewski Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences

Professor A Preston Department of Biology and Biochemistry

Dr P Rogers Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (in

addition to Professor N McHugh)

Dr T Shardlow Department of Mathematical Sciences
Professor J Sivaloganathan Department of Mathematical Sciences

Dr C Todd Department of Biology and Biochemistry (alternate for

Professor D Tosh)

Professor S Ward
Professor J White
Professor C Wilson
Dr M Wright
Associate Dean (International)
Head of Natural Sciences
Associate Dean (Research)
Department of Computer Science

In attendance Mrs M Hallett Faculty Assistant Registrar (Secretary)

Ms A L Harper Faculty of Science (Observer)

Mrs S Paine Programmes Manager (Operations) (Observer)

Apologies Dr F Bisset Learning Partnerships Office

Mr T Cheung PGT student representative

Dr N Fotaki Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology

Professor C Frost Deputy Dean of Science

Miss F Jackson Students' Union Sabbatical Officer (Community)

Dr F Qin School of Management

Dr G Stothart Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
Professor D Tosh Department of Biology and Biochemistry

7147 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the previous meeting of the Board held on 19 May 2021 (Paper 193), and there were no matters arising.

7148 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

The Chair reported the following matters:

- Offers have been made for PVC-R and PVC-E roles, which have been accepted in principle, to start on 1 December 2021; Council are due to sign off on these appointments by the end of next week. Professor Hejmadi will be acting up in the PVC-E role until the incumbent arrives.
- The DVC advert is now live, with a closing date of 8 July 2021.
- A new Degree Apprenticeship in Artificial Intelligence and joint MSc in Computer Science and Innovation, with the School of Management, have been approved by UEB and will be considered by the Board at its July meeting.

7149 REPORT ON RESEARCH GRANTS

The Board received details of awards accepted by Research and Innovation Services from 12 May until 18 June 2021 (Paper 194).

The Chair was pleased to note the 14 grants totalling just over £1 million and congratulated in particular:

• Dr James Taylor, Department of Chemistry, for his award of £314,716 from the EPSRC for research into Boronic Acid-Catalysed Dehydrative Synthesis.

7150 ESTABLISHMENT OF PRIZES

The Board approved the establishment of a new:

- Edward Fraenkel Prize for Best PhD Thesis, in the Department of Mathematical Sciences (Paper 195). The Chair noted that the prize was for 1 year in the first instance, but the Department was confident that it would continue. Professor Milewski reported that the Department now had over 120 PhD students, with 30 graduating each year. The prize will add value to the degree of the best students, which is about honour more than it is about monetary value.
- Sosei-Heptares Therapeutics Prize for Best Final Year Pharmacology Project in the Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (Paper 196). The Chair noted that the prize had funding for 4 years.

The Board approved amendment of:

• Best Pharmacy Practice Prize, Year 1 MPharm, in the Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (Paper 197). The Chair noted that the amendment would change the current funder from Boots to Lloyds Pharmacy for 1 year, and the title to Best Clinical Pharmacy, Final Year MPharm, after which it is expected Boots will resume the prize sponsorship and the prize will be reassigned back as it was originally established. The Department would then propose a new prize to be funded by Lloyds for the next 3 years.

7151 BOARD OF STUDIES APPEAL HEARING PANEL MEMBERS

The Board approved the Board of Studies Appeal Hearing panel members, in line with Regulation 17 (Paper 198).

7152 GROUPS AND HEADS OF GROUP

The Board approved the appointment of Heads of Group and the establishment of Groups (Paper 199). The Chair expressed some concern around the gender balance, given the male dominance, while acknowledging that it had improved from last year. The Chair requested that HoDs continue to encourage female colleagues to put themselves forward for such appointments.

7153 FACULTY EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The Board noted the minutes of the meetings held on 11 May (Paper 200A) and 8 June (Paper 200B) 2021.

- 7154 FACULTY LEARNING, TEACHING AND QUALITY COMMITTEE

 The Board noted the minutes of the meeting held on 9 June 2021 (Paper 201).
- 7155 FACULTY RESEARCH AND KNOWLEDGE EXCHANGE COMMITTEE

 The Board noted the minutes of the meeting held on 10 May 2021 (Paper 202).
- 7156 FACULTY DOCTORAL STUDIES COMMITTEE (FDSC)
 The Board noted the minutes of the meeting held on 6 May 2021 (Paper 203).
- 7157 UNIVERSITY BOARD OF STUDIES (DOCTORAL) (BoSD)

 The Board noted the minutes of the meetings held on 28 April (Paper 204A) and 26 May (Paper 204B) 2021.
- 7158 STAFF STUDENT LIAISON COMMITTEE (SSLC) MEETINGS
 The Board noted the minutes of the meetings held on:
 Department of Biology and Biochemistry 13 May 2021 (Paper 205).
 Department of Computer Science 16 June 2021 (Paper 206).
- **7159 ANY OTHER BUSINESS** There was none.