Statutory Bodies and Committees

Academic Programmes Committee

The Academic Programmes Committee is responsible to Senate for development of the University's portfolio of programmes and collaborative provision in accordance with the University Strategy.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Academic Programmes Committee, please contact Mark Demmen, ext 5219.

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Name Position Term of Office
Professor P Lambert Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)(Chair) ex-officio
Professor J Bradshaw Pro-Vice-Chancellor (International and Doctoral) ex-officio
Professor B Rayton Chair of the Programmes and Partnerships Approval Committee ex-officio
Professor G Hawley Dean, Faculty of Engineering and Design ex-officio
Professor D Galbreath Dean, Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences ex-officio
Professor N Brook Dean, Faculty of Science ex-officio
Professor V Hope Hailey Vice-President (Corporate Relations) and Dean & Head of School of Management ex-officio
Mr M Nicholson Director of Undergraduate Admissions & Outreach ex-officio
Mr M Williams Director of Finance ex-officio
Vacant Director of Learning and Teaching Enhancement ex-officio
Mr T Kaner Director of Marketing and Communications ex-officio
Ms K Robinson Librarian ex-officio
Dr S Alegre Member of Senate elected by Senate 2019
Dr A Nightingale Member of Senate elected by Senate 18/03/2018

The following Officers routinely attend meetings of the Committee:

Name Position
Mr A Lee Director of Computing Services  
Dr N Kemp Director of Policy and Planning  
Dr J Harris Director of Academic Registry  
Mrs G Eggleston Head of Student Learning Experience & Quality  

Terms of Reference

Approved by Senate 9th June 2010, Revised by Senate 8th June 2011, 13th June 2012, 15 October 2014

  1. To identify and promote opportunities for further development of the University's portfolio of programmes and collaborative provision:
    • encouraging innovation, flexible learning provision, interdisciplinarity and cross-Faculty/School/collaboration;
    • ensuring an integrated approach to portfolio development so that the capacity of the University and its partners to deliver a consistently high quality student learning experience is maintained.
  2. To consider and determine, on behalf of Senate, proposals for:
    • (a.) initial approval of new programme (including a programme which constitutes and expansion of the University's discipline base/extension of the existing discipline base into new levels of study or require the allocation of additional Home/EU student numbers);
    • (b.) initial approval of an existing taught programme to be delivered by an existing or prospective collaborative partner;
    • (c.) initial approval for research degree collaborative arrangements;
    • (d.) withdrawal of programmes;
    • (e.) initial approval of major programmes changes requiring strategic consideration including programme title changes;
    • (f.) amendment, renewal and withdrawal of collaborative provision arrangements (including aritculation arrangements);
    • (g.) new articulation agreements;
  3. To consider and recommend to Senate proposals for new institutional partners.
  4. To support or reject a proposal to proceed with a new or the renewal of a student exchange arrangement.

Procedural Rules

    Membership: The term of office for nominated members of the Committee is three years (renewable).

  • In the event that a nominated member ceases to be a member of Senate, the Vice-Chancellor will nominate a replacement to serve for the remainder of their term of office (renewable).
  • Co-option: At the discretion of the Committee in accordance with Senate Standing Order 16.
  • Alternates: Permitted in accordance with Senate Standing Order 17.
  • Quorum: One third of the membership of the Committee (Senate Standing Order 16).
  • Rules for Voting: None
  • Minutes: Submitted to Senate and the Programmes and Partnerships Approval Committee