Statutory Bodies and Committees

Awards Committee

The Awards Committee considers nominations for awards which recognise significant contributions by staff to the University.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Awards Committee, please contact Susan Watts, Learning and Teaching Enhancement Office (ext 5297).

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Professor P Lambert Chair, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)
Dr E Rich Past award-winner
Dr M Hejmadi Past award-winner
Dr N Johnston Representative of Academic Assembly
Miss C Page SU Education Officer

Terms of Reference

Approved by Council 17th July 1992, revised by Council 8th July 1994 and by Senate 1st March 2000, 21st January 2004 and 15th March 2006.

  1. The Committee will publicise the awards and invite nominations, students in particular being encouraged to put names forward.
  2. Nominations should be accompanied by a brief supporting paper.
  3. The Committee shall first establish whether a prima facie case has been established.
  4. If this is established, the Committee will then seek each candidate's permission to discuss the nomination more widely, eg. by consultation with students, academic colleagues, Head of School et al. as seems desirable.
  5. The Committee will make the Awards on behalf of Senate.
  6. Unsuccessful candidates may be nominated for Awards in subsequent years.
  7. Awards are presented to the winners at the Summer Awards Ceremonies.

Procedural Rules

  • Appointment of Chair: Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching).
  • Membership: One representative elected by Academic Assembly, two past award winners nominated by the Chair and the Vice President (Education) of the Students' Union.
  • Co-option: See Senate Standing Orders 16(ii) and (iii).
  • Alternates: See Senate Standing Orders 17(iii) and (iv).
  • Quorum: One third of membership (Senate Standing Order 16).
  • Rules for voting: None specified.
  • Minutes: Submitted to members and decisions reported to Senate.