Statutory Bodies and Committees

Chancellor's Prize Committee

The Chancellor's Prize is an annual award for the best final year undergraduate student. It was established in 1992 through the generosity of Lord Kearton, the University's second Chancellor. The Prize Committee, following an annual selection process, reports the selection of the prize-winner to Senate and the prize is awarded at the appropriate summer award ceremony.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Chancellor’s Prize Committee, please contact Clare Henderson, ext 3400.

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Professor J Swart Chair, School of Management 2019
Professor S Fullagar Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences 2018
Professor P Walker Faculty of Engineering and Design 2020
Professor A Burrows Faculty of Science 2019
Mr B Davies Students' Union President 2018

Terms of Reference

Approved by Senate 11th November 1992.

The nominated student should have demonstrated academic excellence, together with a contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University. The Committee will bear in mind the availability of other awards (academic prizes, sporting, musical and artistic awards/prizes and for service to the community); additionally, officers of the Students' Union may already have been seen to be honoured by their election to these posts.

Supporting documents and references from sources outside the nominee's Department will be accepted and considered by the Chancellor's Prize Committee in the selection process. Personal Tutors, Directors of Studies or Head of School/Department may be approached for further information before a final decision is made.

Procedural Rules

Appointment of Chair: Vice-Chancellor or nominee.
Membership: Three Professors to represent different academic disciplines, nominated by the Vice-Chancellor, plus President of the Students' Union (by invitation).
Co-option: See Senate Standing Orders 16(ii) and (iii).
Alternates: See Senate Standing Orders 17(ii) and (iv).
Rules for voting: None specified.
Minutes: Submitted to members and decisions reported to Senate.