Statutory Bodies and Committees

The Chancellor's Prize

The Chancellor's Prize was established in 1992 through the generosity of Lord Kearton, the University's second chancellor. It is awarded annually to the best final year undergraduate student on the basis of the student demonstrating academic excellence together with a contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University.

The winner of the 2013 prize is:

Yiannis Eftychiou winner of the Chancellor\'s Prize in 2013

Yiannis Eftychiou

Final Year MEng

Department of Mechanical Engineering

The Committee was very impressed with Yiannis' high academic results and repeated commendations from the Board of Examiners for excellence in examinations. The recognition of the Royal Academy of Engineering for academic excellence and leadership potential were noted. His contribution to the academic reputation of the University by representing it at an All Party Parliamentary Engineering Group debate in the House of Lords in May 20152 and at the Global Grand Challenges Summit in March 2013 were also acknowledged. In addition, his contribution to the general life of the University through serving as Squash First Team Captain and Club Treasurer and his work with students to promote the Engineering Leadership Award represented a broad range of interests. Along with his academic achievement, Yiannis' ability to show leadership on expeditions and his concern for charitable fundraising and to support opportunities for others were considered by the Committee to make him a worthy recipient.