Statutory Bodies and Committees

The Chancellor's Prize

The Chancellor's Prize was established in 1992 through the generosity of Lord Kearton, the University's second chancellor. It is awarded annually to the best final year undergraduate student on the basis of the student demonstrating academic excellence together with a contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University.

The winner of the 2015 prize is:

2015 Chancellor\'s Prize winner

Jemima Tabeart

Final Year MMath

Department of Mathematical Sciences

The Committee was very impressed with the excellent academic results that Jemima has achieved throughout her degree programme. Her contribution to the academic reputation of the University by undertaking a successful research project with a bursary from the EPSRC and gaining a funded PhD place within the Mathematics or Planet Earth CDT of Imperial College and the University of Reading were also recognised. In addition, her contribution to the general life of the University through serving as a student Academic Representative and the Council/Senate/Students' Union Committee member illustrated her engagement with the student experience and desire to improve this still further. Her involvement with the Choral and Orchestral Society and role as Captain for John Wood/Private Accommodation in 20101 showed the breadth of her contributions to the University community.