Statutory Bodies and Committees

Ede and Ravenscroft Prize Committee

The Ede and Ravenscroft Prize is an annual award for the best postgraduate research student awarded for the first time in 1991 and is generously funded by Ede and Ravenscroft, appointed robemakers to HM The Queen. Shortlisted candidates are invited to give presentations on their research at an open event in the 4West Graduate Centre, and the Prize Committee announces the winner at a reception following the presentations. The prize winner is reported to Senate. The value of the prize is £1000, with each of the shortlisted finalists receiving a amazon gift card to the value of £50 funded by the University.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Ede & Ravenscroft Prize Committee, please contact Mark Pender, ext. 5398.

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Professor Jonathan Knight Chair, Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Research) ex-officio
Dr Ed Keogh Faculty of Humanities and  Social Sciences, Member of University Research Students Committee 2019
Professor Tina Düren Faculty of Engineering and Design 2019
Professor David Galbreath Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences co-opted
Professor Orietta Marsili School of Management co-opted

Terms of Reference

Approved by Senate, 5th December 1990.

The Prize Committee will judge the nominations for the Prize on two elements, the written submission from the student and their Head of Department and an oral presentation by the student. The Committee will explore reasons why the students’ contribution to their particular research is outstanding and its wider significance.

Procedural Rules:

Appointment of Chair: A Pro-Vice-Chancellor.
Membership: A Professor nominated by the Vice-Chancellor; the Chair of the University Research Students' Committee (or a member of the Committee appointed by the Chair), provided that no two members come from the same department.
Co-option: The Committee shall have the power to co-opt additional members, or to invite Assessors to be present at any meeting.
Alternates: See Senate Standing Orders 17(iii) and (iv).
Quorum: One third of the membership (Senate Standing Order 16).
Rules for voting: None specified.
Minutes: Submitted to members and decisions reported to Senate.


Nomination form - Nominations to be received by 5pm, Tuesday 8 May 2018

For information on previous competitions and winners see links below: