Statutory Bodies and Committees

Social Science Research Ethics Committee (SSREC)

The Social Sciences Research Ethics Committee (SSREC) scrutinises the ethical implications of research grant proposals submitted to external funding bodies by University staff with a view to their endorsement. It complies with the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) Research Ethics Framework. It is a sub-committee of the Ethics Committee.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Social Sciences Research Ethics Committee, please contact Corinna Box, ext 3368.

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Dr Fiona Gillison Chair
Department Research Ethics Officers: (DREOs) serve until their term as DREO expires:    
Professor Shasi Nandeibam Economics  
Dr Andrea Abbas Education  
Dr Felia Allum Politics, Languages & International Studies  
Dr Nathalia Gjersoe Psychology  
Dr Ana Cecilia Dinerstein Social & Policy Sciences  
Dr James Betts Health  
Dr Michael Gill School of Management  
Non-University Members    
Mr Andrew Fraser    

Terms of Reference
Approved by University Ethics Committee, 2 May 2006, Revisions approved 6 February 2007, 14 October 2008, 7 May 2013 and 6 October 2015

  1. To review ESRC research ethics proposals from University staff and advise on the requirements for ethical approval.
  2. To give written endorsement of the ethical implications of such proposals that require ethical approval, or provide written information as to why endorsement has not been given.
  3. To consider resubmissions.
  4. To refer to the University Ethics Committee cases which cannot be resolved or about which there is uncertainty.
  5. To receive reports from department research ethics officers on proposals endorsed via EIRA.
  6. To advise on the most appropriate monitoring mechanisms for projects that have been approved, and to receive monitoring reports at agreed intervals from the principal investigator.
  7. To advise department research ethics officers on student research proposals which cannot be resolved or about which there is uncertainty.
  8. To operate procedures when scrutinising proposals with a view to endorsement that are no less rigorous than those suggested or required by relevant professional bodies.
  9. To advise the University Ethics Committee on training needs for SSREC members.

Procedural Rules

Appointment of Chair: Nomination to be approved by the Board of Studies of the Faculty of Humanities & Social Sciences.
Co-option: Department Ethics Officers as required from other Social Science areas.
Alternates: None specified.
Quorum: One third of the committee, or three members, whichever is higher
Rules for voting: None specified.
Minutes: Submitted to Ethics Committee.

SSREC meetings

Meeting date Submission of application
Wed 17 May 2017 Wed 3 May 2017