Statutory Bodies and Committees

Degree Attainment Group

The Degree Attainment Group has been set up to monitor, investigate and address disparities in degree attainment between different groups of students, primarily those which are protected groups under the terms of the Equality Act (particularly by ethnicity, disability and gender).

Secretary to the Group: If you would like further information about the Degree Attainment Group, please contact Sue Stove, ext 6080.

Group members

* Term of office expires on 31st July each year.

Mr Mark Humphriss University Secretary (Chair)
Dr Andrea Abbas Senior Lecturer, Department of Education
Mr James Arthur Head of Student Records and Examinations
Ms Catherine Bailey Student Services Manager, Operations and Money Advice
Mr Ben Davies SU Education Officer*
Mrs Cath Haines Student Experience Officer
Ms Annette Hayton Head of Widening Participation
Professor Andrew Heath Academic Director of Centre for Learning and Teaching
Professor Peter Lambert Pro-Vice-Chancellor (Learning and Teaching)
Dr Frances Laughton Institutional Academic Lead on Placements
Dr Marian Mackintosh WP Research and Evaluation Officer
Mr Mike Nicholson Director of Undergraduate Admissions & Outreach
Professor Eamonn O'Neill Head of Department, Computer Science
Ms Tracey Wells Head of Careers Service
Mrs Mandy Wilson-Garner Deputy Chief Executive, Students' Union
Miss Lucy Woodcock SU President*

Terms of Reference

Agreed by the Degree Attainment Group, 26 June 2014.

  1. Monitor degree attainment data annually.
  2. Identify and take action as appropriate to address attainment gaps.
  3. Monitor the implementation of actions taken and their effectiveness.
  4. Be assured that suitable and sufficient measures are in place to support BAME and disabled students to achieve their full potential in terms of degree attainment, including by the take up of placements.
  5. Provide a forum for dissemination of information, sharing best practice and relevant discussion.