Statutory Bodies and Committees

Equality and Diversity Network

The Equality and Diversity Network has a broad and representative membership and provides a forum for consultation on Equality and diversity issues. It is a sub-committee of the Equality and Diversity Committee.

Secretary to the Committee: If you would like further information about the Equality and Diversity Network, please contact Caroline Harris, ext 4141.

Network members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Adalgisa Giorgio Chair 2018

The Department Equality Co-ordinator from each academic Department/School:

Danielle Wain Architecture and Civil Engineering  
Adele Murrell Biology and Biochemistry  
Salvador Eslava Chemical Engineering  
Steve Roser Chemistry  
Peter Johnson Computer Science  
Shasi Nandeibam Economics  
Janina Iwaniec Education  
Kang Ma Electronic and Electrical Engineering  
to be confirmed Health  
Deborah Lewis Management  
Tim Rogers Mathematical Sciences  
Linda Newnes Mechanical Engineering  
Charareh Pourzand Pharmacy and Pharmacology  
Adelina Ilie Physics  
Yukteshwar Kumar Politics, Languages and International Studies  
Chris Ashwin Psychology  
Justin Rogers Social and Policy Sciences  

The Department Equality Co-ordinator from each administrative/service Department:


Rachel Sheer Academic Registry  
Kate Noad ahs  
Katie Sivil Campus Retail and Commercial Operations  
Melanie Wortham Careers Service  
Neil Bannister Centre for Learning and Teaching  
Sean Chawla-Duggan Computing Services  
Stephanie Lear Development and Alumni Relations  
Karen Hunter Estates  
Angela Milsom Finance  
Mary Clarkson Human Resources  
Zoe Whittle International Relations Office  
Justin Hodds Library  
Sophie Miles Marketing and Communications  
Nicky Kemp Policy and Planning Office  
Alice Hovanessian/Laura Simpson Research and Innovation Services  
Samuel Holmes Sports Development and Recreation  
Florin Bisset Student Recruitment and Admissions  
Barbara Furnival Student Services  
Rebecca Fox The Edge Arts  
Suzanne Maxwell Vice-Chancellor's Office  

One representative appointed from the non-academic staff of each Faculty:

Sarah Stead Faculty of Engineering and Design  
Andie Barlow Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences  
Dawn Hallett Faculty of Science  

One representative appointed from the campus trades unions:

 Nour Alhusein  UCU

One representative appointed by and from each of the Students' Union's student support groups:

Isla Jardine Bath Exchange and Eramus Group (BEN) 2017
Rosie Thomas Enable 2017
Julie Marange Gender Equality Group 2017
Daniel Murillo Antuna International Students Association 2017
Alfie Watt LGBT+ Society 2017
Helen Mutter Student Parents and Mature Students Group 2017
Efthymia Kelesidou Postgraduate Association 2017
Emmanuel Adama Race Equality Group 2017
Ruby Earl Student Minds 2017

One representative from each of the University's recognised Equality groups (including self-organised):

Ed Stevens Kaleidoscope representative 2018
Linda Newnes Disabled Staff Support Group 2017
to be confirmed Race Equality Staff Group 2017

Three representatives nominated by the Students' Union:

Liz Stoneman Students' Union representative 2017
Katherine Moyniham Students' Union representative 2017
to be confirmed Students' Union representative 2017

Student representatives (elected by cross campus ballot)

Hannah Durkin Disabled students representative
to be confirmed Gender Equality student representative
Aya Elghajiji International students representative
to be confirmed Race Equality student representative

In attendance:

Marlene Bertrand Equality and Diversity Manager  
Nicky Kemp Director of Policy and Planning  
Caroline Harris Secretary  


  1. Members unable to attend meetings are permitted to nominate a representative to attend in their place.
  2. The Network may co-opt or invite other members of the University staff or student body or invite representatives of external organisations to attend meetings as necessary.
  3. Charareh Pourzand is the representative of the Network on the Equality and Diversity Committee (alternate Deborah Lewis), to 31st July 2019.

Terms of Reference

Approved by Executive Committee 7th July 2005, revised by Council 29th June 2006 wef 1st August 2006.

  1. Discussing operational issues relating to Equality and diversity within the University and making appropriate recommendations to the Equality and Diversity Committee.
  2. Disseminating good practice and information about University policies and procedures relating to Equality and diversity.
  3. Bringing matters of concern to the attention of the Equality and Diversity Committee.
  4. Providing an annual report to the Equality and Diversity Committee.

Procedural Rules

Appointment of Chair: A staff member appointed by the Vice-Chancellor
Co-option: None specified.
Alternates: None specified.
Quorum: None specified.
Rules for voting: None specified.
Minutes: Submitted to Equality and Diversity Committee.