Statutory Bodies and Committees

Committee on the Office of Vice-Chancellor

The Committee on the Office of Vice-Chancellor is a Joint Committee of Council and Senate and is responsible for making recommendations to Council and Senate on the appointment of the Vice-Chancellor of the University.

Contact: If you would like further information about the Committee on the Office of Vice-Chancellor, please contact Richard Brooks.

Committee members

Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

Name Position Term of Office
His Royal Highness The Prince Edward, Earl of Wessex KG GCVO Chancellor ex-officio
Mr T Sheppard Chair of Council ex-officio
Mr R Whorrod Member of Council elected by Council 2018
Mr P Troughton Member of Council elected by Council 2020
Professor J Davenport Member of Senate elected by Senate 2019
Professor B Morley Member of Senate elected by Senate 2020
Professor J Knight Member of Senate elected by Senate 2018

The following have also been invited by the Chancellor, after consultation with the Committee and with members of Council, to participate in meetings of the committee as part of the process of recruiting a new Vice-Chancellor in 2018:

Professor Julia Buckingham Vice-Chancellor of Brunel University
Professor Veronica Hope Hailey Dean of School of  Management
Ms Jane Loveys Director of Accommodation and Hospitality
Mrs Mandy Wilson-Garner  Deputy Chief Executive, Students' Union

 The following Officers routinely attend meetings of the Committee:

John Rushforth Secretary  
Richard Brooks Director of Human Resources  

Terms of Reference

Approved by Privy Council in 1966, Revised in 2009.

In accordance with Section 5.1 of the Statutes, the successors to the first Vice-Chancellor shall be appointed by the Council after consideration of a report from a Joint Committee consisting of the Chancellor, Chair of Council and two other members of the Council and three members of the Senate; the Chair shall be appointed by the Chancellor.

Procedural Rules

  • Appointment of Chair: Appointed by the Chancellor.
  • Co-option: See Council Standing Orders 16(iv) and 16(v).
  • Alternates: See Council Standing Order 17(iii) and 17(iv).
  • Quorum: One third of the membership (Council Standing Order 16(vi)).
  • Rules for voting: None specified.
  • Minutes: Submitted to Council and Senate.