Study

Chirag Gosain

MEng Mechanical Engineering, from Panchkula, Haryana

 
Chirag Gosain
The excellent support available from the Student’s Union and International Office meant that I could focus on my studies.
 

Why did you choose to study at the University of Bath?

I wanted to study Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, so I was looking for a university where I could follow these subjects. The reputation of University of Bath and the city made it stand out from all the other choices I was considering at the time of admission.

Why Engineering?

Machines, engines and planes have always fascinated me since childhood. So I didn't have to struggle when it came to chose what I was to study. I always knew what I wanted to do.

What do you enjoy most about living and studying here?

Whether it is town or campus, nature has bestowed Bath in abundance of beauty. For me, it is important to live in an environment that is inspiring and this city is definitely one of them. I like the fact that all the faculties are based on single campus and I have got enough opportunities here to carry out extra curricular activities. I have enjoyed everything, from studying to learning new sports and studying new languages.

Did you find anything in particular difficult when you first arrived?

When I first arrived here, I found it difficult to make social connections. But as the year progressed, I got involved in a couple of societies and found many people with similar interests.

Was there anything that you found particularly useful when settling in?

The excellent support available from Student’s Union and International Office meant that I could focus on my studies without worrying about many factors which otherwise might have hindered with my routine.

Can you tell us about any strong memories you have of your time at Bath so far?

I have been involved in so many things during my time in Bath that it is difficult to pin point any one. But I remember quite strongly how I met my first roommate, which is probably because he was the first person I properly communicated with after my arrival in Bath and I continue to see him around.

What are your plans for the future?

I would like to do a PhD, but since getting funding might be a problem, I will keep looking for jobs that interest me. I don’t mind which part of the world I end up in as long as I am being productive. Money is not important for me, but I want to be play an important role wherever I work and can utilise my skills to maximum.

What is your social life like?

I was International Student Representative on the Union Council from February 2007 to May 2008, and during this time I was also chairing the Vegetarian Society and was on the committee of One World and Engineers Without Borders for one year. I also participated in Banter Competition where my business idea VegCoop was one of the three finalists. I was also the Students' Union Treasurer for general societies where I was responsible for managing finances of over 50 societies.

As far as other things go, I took up tennis and fencing at University. Although I am still trying to be better at fencing, I have now reached Intermediate level in Tennis from a beginner in two years. I have also learned German and plan on learning some basic French this year. As of now, I work with ICIA as an Arts Assistant.

What advice would you give to other international students thinking about coming to study in the UK?

My only advice would be to try and attend some if not many events during first weeks at University. Some students might not find a few activities as enjoyable as they expected, but this should not stop them from trying new things that they feel comfortable with.