University of Bath

Equality and Diversity Network

The Equality and Diversity Network has a broad and representative membership and provides a forum for consultation on equality and diversity issues.

The Network has a broad and representative membership and provides a forum for consultation on Equality and diversity issues.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.


    Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

    Name Position Term of Office
    Adalgisa Giorgio Chair 2018

    The Department Equality Co-ordinator from each academic Department/School

    Name Department/School
    Giorgia Giardina Architecture and Civil Engineering
    Adele Murrell Biology and Biochemistry
    Salvador Eslava Chemistry
    Petra Cameron Chemistry
    Marina De Vos Computer Science
    Elnaz Bajoori Economics
    Janina Iwaniec Education
    Kang Ma Electronic and Electrical Engineering
    Peter Rouse Health
    Deborah Lewis Management
    Tim Rogers Mathematical Sciences
    Linda Newnes Mechanical Engineering
    Charareh Pourzand Pharmancy and Pharmacology
    Stijn Wuyts Physics
    Yukteshwar Kumar Politics, Languages and International Studies
    Chris Ashwin Psychology
    Nelson Oppong Social and Policy Sciences

    The Department Equality Co-ordinator form each administrative/service Department:

    Name Department
    Helen Davis Academic Registry
    Kate Noad ahs
    Melanie Wortham Careers Service
    Hannah Sanderson Centre for Learning and Teaching
    Sean Chawla-Duggan Computing Services
    Stephanie Lear Development and Alumni Relations
    Rebecca Fox Edge Arts
    Karen Hunter Estates
    Angela Milsom Finance
    Mary Clarkson Human Resources
    Tina Schilbach/Antonio Marcos International Relations Office
    Justin Hodds Library
    Sophie Miles Marketing and Communications
    Nicky Kemp Policy and Planning Office
    Simon Bond/Kay Gallagher Research and Innovation Services
    Connor Russell Sports Development and Recreation
    Florin Bisset/David Young Student Recruitment and Admissions
    Barbara Furnival Student Services
    Suzanne Maxwell Vice-Chancellor's Office

    One representative appointed from non-academic staff of each Faculty:

    Name Faculty
    Sarah Stead Faculty of Engineering and Design
    Andie Barlow Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences
    Dawn Hallett Faculty of Science

    One representative from each of the three recognised campus trade unions':

    Name Union
    Nour Alhusein UCU
    Stef Kasprowksi UNITE
    to be confirmed UNISON

    One representative appointed by and from each of the Students' Union's student support groups:

    Name Student Group Term of Office
    Hannah Tonry Bath Erasmus & Exchange Network (BEN) 2018
    Sophie Lingfield/Emma Bishop Enable 2018
    Alexandra Iciek Gender Equaity Group 2018
    Vaidehi Jaju Gender Equality Group 2018
    Zeid Truscott LGBT+ Society 2018
    Rachelle Wabissa Student Parents and Mature Students Group 2018
    Georgia Prastiti Postgraudate Association 2018
    Miada Hassan/Berenice Dalrymple Race Equality Group 2018
    Adam Bagdu Student Minds 2018

    One representative from each of the university's recognised Equality groups (including self-organised):

    Name Equality Group Term of Office
    Ed Stevens Kaleidoscope 2018
    Otter Baker Disabled Staff Support Group 2018
    to be confirmed Race Equality Staff Group 2018

    Three representatives nominated by the Students' Union

    Name Term of Office
    To be confirmed Students' Union Representative 2018
    Kimberly Pickett-Mcatackney Students' Union Representative 2018
    Eve Alcock Students' Union Representative 2018

    Student representatives (elected by cross campus ballot)

    Name Student Group Term of Office
    to be confirmed Disabled students representative 2018
    to be confirmed Gender Equality student representative 2018
    to be confirmed International students representative 2018
    to be confirmed Race Equality student representative 2018

    In attendance:

    Name Department
    Georgina Brown Equality and Diversity Manager
    Aiste Senulyte Equality and Diversity Officer
    Nicky Kemp Director of Policy and Planning
    Caroline Harris Secretary


    Members unable to attend meetings are permitted to nominate a representative to attend in their place.

    The Network may co-opt or invite other members of the University staff or student body or invite representatives of external organisations to attend meetings as necessary.

    Charareh Pourzand is the representative of the Network on the Equality and Diversity Committee (alternate Deborah Lewis), to 31st July 2019.

Meeting dates and minutes