University of Bath

Psychology Ethics Committee

The committee considers research protocols from staff and students in the Department of Psychology to assess the suitability in terms of research ethics.

This committee broadly follows the British Psychological Society Ethical Guidelines and the Data Protection Act in their consideration of applications for ethical approval. The committee may occasionally raise additional issues for researchers to consider, in the interests of good practice, especially when conducting research with vulnerable groups.

University staff can access related resources for this committee.

The committee is a sub-committee of the University Ethics Committee.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee members

Meeting dates 2017/18

    The committee convenes every month to consider applications for ethical review. Applications must be submitted to the Secretary, Rebecca Wise.

    • Wednesday 7 February 2018 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 31 January 2018)
    • Wednesday 7 March 2018 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 28 February 2018)
    • Wednesday 4 April 2018 (deadline for application submission: Monday 26 March 2018)
    • Wednesday 2 May 2018 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 25 April 2018)
    • Wednesday 6 June 2018 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 30 May 2018)
    • Wednesday 4 July 2018 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 27 June 2018)