Skip to main content

Celebrating and rewarding public engagement

Public engagement is important and we have several opportunities to celebrate and recognise your achievements in engaging public groups with your research.

Run by the Public Engagement Unit, the Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards reward and celebrate the achievements of those who engage people and communities beyond the University of Bath with their research.

Winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards are recognised for their important role in undertaking excellent public engagement with their research, increasing the impact of their work, improving their own skills and leading by example.

The Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards categories are:

  • Informing - for projects which have successfully shared research knowledge with people and communities.

  • Listening - for projects which listen and respond to the needs, knowledge and experience of people and communities.

  • Working together - for projects which have successfully involved working with people and communities.

  • Leadership - for individuals who have developed an inclusive culture of public engagement within their own department, faculty or research centre.

In 2019 the Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards were re-launched to embrace the much broader range of engagement activities happening across the University of Bath today compared to back in 2013 and will now be run biennially.

The Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards 2019

Four award-winning projects were recognised in the Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards 2019 for their outstanding and collaborative work engaging people and communities with their research.

In 2019 there was a record number of applications for the Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards from across all three faculties and the School of Management with a diverse range of projects submitted. The judging panel were thrilled with the exceptionally high-quality examples of public engagement and noted finding just one winner in each of the four categories was difficult. The winners of each of the categories for the Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards 2019 are:

  • Informing - Dr Sally Adams and Craig Gunn, Department of Psychology for their varied engagement work on the effects of alcohol hangovers on the way individuals think and behave.

  • Listening - Dr Alinka Gearon, Department of Social & Policy Sciences for her project that aimed to listen to and give voice to children and young people who had been trafficked to the UK.

  • Working together - Dr Jade Norris, Department of Psychology for her project improving the experiences of people with autism of services such as education and criminal justice.

  • Leadership - Dr Janet Bultitude, Department of Psychology leading the Department of Psychology to create a culture where public engagement is supported and nurtured.

Recognising the achievements of one of the candidates for Leadership the Judging Panel decided to award a Special Recognition Award to Dr Frances Laughton, Department of Physics, in recognition of her dedicated work leading the public engagement agenda within the Department of Physics.

The submission date for applications for the 2021 Vice-Chancellor’s Engage Awards will be announced in Autumn 2020.

The Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards 2019

Winners of the 2019 Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards.

The Vice-Chancellor's Engage Awards and Showcase

Past award winners 2014-2018

Awards for research staff and postgraduate researchers celebrating their public engagement with research activities.

Established in 2013 as the Vice-Chancellor’s Public Engagement with Research Awards, the Awards invited researchers to submit a portfolio of public engagement activities and two awards were presented, one for research staff and one for postgraduate researchers.

Previous winners of the Vice-Chancellor’s Public Engagement with Research Awards were:

2018 Staff Award

Dr Ventsislav Valev, Department of Physics

2018 Postgraduate Prize

Bethan Charles, Department of Chemistry

2017 Staff Award

Dr Afroditi Stathi, Department for Health

2017 Postgraduate Prize

Daniela De Angeli, Department of Computer Science

2016 Staff Award

Dr Kit Yates, Department of Mathematical Sciences

2016 Postgraduate Prize

Jemma Rowlandson, Department of Chemical Engineering

2015 Staff Award

Dr Sarah Bailey, Department of Pharmacy & Pharmacology

2015 Postgraduate Prize

Jon Chouler, Department of Chemical Engineering

2014 Staff Award

Dr Paul Shepherd, Department of Architecture & Civil Engineering

2014 Postgraduate Prize

Lisa Sargeant, Department of Chemical Engineering