Skip to main content

Department of Economics seminars 2018-19

See the schedule of seminars taking place in the Department of Economics. All our seminars are free to attend.

December 2018

Seminars in December.



February 2019

Seminars in February.


Wednesday 6 February

Does willingness to compete predict education and labor market outcomes? Evidence from incentivized choices and validated survey measures

Wednesday 13 February

The Destruction, Dilution and Hidden Wealth of English Elite Dynasties, 1892-2018

Wednesday 20 February

A robust approach to heteroskedasticity, error serial correlation and slope heterogeneity for large linear panel data models with interactive effects

Tuesday 26 February

Price setting on a network

Wednesday 27 February

Generic inference on quantile and quantile effect functions for discrete outcomes


March 2019

Seminars in March.


Tuesday 5 March

Mind the Gap! The effect of an increased UK state pension age on expected working life of employees

Wednesday 6 March

Disliking to disagree

Wednesday 13 March

The causal effect of retirement on health and happiness (joint with Matteo Picchio)

Tuesday 19 March

Public employment in a task based theory of underemployment

Wednesday 20 March

Bond-Boom Recessions (joint with Tore Ellingsen)

Wednesday 27 March

Implementation by vote-buying mechanisms


April 2019

Seminars in April.


Tuesday 2 April

Capital obsolescence and agricultural productivity

Tuesday 9 April

How does potential unemployment insurance benefit duration affect re-employment timing, sorting and wages?

Tuesday 16 April

Oil price shock and optimal monetary policy in an oil-rich emerging economy

  • Speaker: Sunday Oladunni, Department of Economics
  • Time:1.15 - 3.05pm
  • Venue: 1 East 3.6

May 2019

Seminars in May.


Wednesday 8 May

A new Keynesian model with wealth in the utility function (joint with Emmanuel Saez)

Wednesday 15 May

The Nature of Lies in Financial Markets: the Role of Reputation and Competition (joint with Chloe Tergiman)


June 2019

Seminars in June.


Contact

Get in touch if you have any questions.