University of Bath

Department of Psychology seminars 2018-19

See the schedule of seminars taking place in the Department of Psychology.

Exterior view of the new Psychology Building in 10 West
Seminars cover a wide range of psychology topics

October 2018

Wednesday 3 October

Causes and consequences of gossipers' lies

Speaker: Dr Kim Peters

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 8 West 2.10

Wednesday 17 October

Visualising the brain, the mind and their processes with artist Stephen Magrath

Speaker: Stephen Magrath

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 31 October

Workshop: The benefits and challenges of commissioning bespoke websites, apps and games for behavioural research

Speakers: Jo Evershed and Dr Punit Shah (University of Bath)

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

November 2018

Wednesday 14 November

When doing the right thing is socially awkward

Speaker: Dr Jan Willem Bolderdijk (University of Groningen)

Time: 12.35 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 28 November

Personalisation in early childhood: what do we know and what do we need to know?

Speaker: Dr Natalia Kucirkova (UCL Institute of Education)

Time: 12.15 to 2.15pm

Venue: 10W 2.47

December 2018

Wednesday 12 December

Eating Disorder prevention: is mindfulness a worthwhile pursuit?

Speaker Dr Melissa Atkinson, University of Bath

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

February 2019

Wednesday 20 February

Casting a long shadow: effects of institutional deprivation in early childhood on mental health and brain development

Speaker: Dr Graeme Fairchild, University of Bath

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Thursday 28 February

Learning how to feel good: Understand and treating disturbances in positive emotion regulation in depression

Speaker: Dr Barney Dunn (University of Exeter)

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: Chancellors' Building 4.16

March 2019

Wednesday 13 March

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 20 March

Representations of the body and peripersonal space during tool-use in pathological pain.

Speaker: Axel Vitterso, University of Bath

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

April 2019

Wednesday 3 April

Testing the psychological underpinnings of political attitudes towards immigration and economics

Speaker: Dr Lee De Witt (University College London)

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 17 April

Face regression: Data driven approaches to studying social perception

Speaker: Dr Alex Jones (University of Swansea)

Time: 12.05 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

May 2019

Wednesday 1 May

Title to be confirmed

Speaker: Emily Henderson (Royal United Hospital Bath)

Time: 2pm

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Friday 3 May

Speaker: Dr Lars-Goran Ost, University of Stockholm

Time: TBC

Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 15 May

Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm

Venue: 10 West 2.45/6