Department of Psychology seminars 2018-19

See the schedule of seminars taking place in the Department of Psychology.

October 2018 and November 2018

Seminars in October and November 2018


Wednesday 3 October

Causes and consequences of gossipers' lies

  • Speaker: Dr Kim Peters
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: 8 West 2.10

Wednesday 17 October

Visualising the brain, the mind and their processes with artist Stephen Magrath

Wednesday 31 October

Workshop: The benefits and challenges of commissioning bespoke websites, apps and games for behavioural research

November 2019

Wednesday 14 November

When doing the right thing is socially awkward

Wednesday 28 November

Personalisation in early childhood: what do we know and what do we need to know?

  • Speaker: Dr Natalia Kucirkova UCL Institute of Education
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.15pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.47

December 2018

Seminars in December


Wednesday 12 December

Eating Disorder prevention: is mindfulness a worthwhile pursuit?


February 2019

Seminars in February


Wednesday 20 February

Casting a long shadow: effects of institutional deprivation in early childhood on mental health and brain development

Tuesday 26 February

The irresistible allure of screens: is touchscreen use impacting child development?

  • Speaker: Dr Tim J Smith Birkbeck, University of London
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.45/6

Thursday 28 February

Learning how to feel good: Understand and treating disturbances in positive emotion regulation in depression

  • Speaker: Dr Barney Dunn University of Exeter
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: Chancellors' Building 4.16

March 2019

Seminars in March


Wednesday 20 March

Representations of the body and peripersonal space during tool-use in pathological pain

Managing the stigma of paying for sex: Racist discourse in men’s talk on sex work

  • Speaker: Monique Huysamen, University of Bath
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.47

April 2019

Seminars in April


Wednesday 3 April

Testing the psychological underpinnings of political attitudes towards immigration and economics

  • Speaker: Dr Lee De Witt, University College London
  • Time: 12.15 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.47

Wednesday 17 April

Face regression: Data driven approaches to studying social perception

  • Speaker: Dr Alex Jones, University of Swansea
  • Time: 12.05 to 2.05pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.01

May 2019

Seminars in May


Wednesday 1 May

Title to be confirmed

  • Speaker: Emily Henderson, Royal United Hospital Bath
  • Time: 2pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.47

Friday 3 May

Brief, Intensive, and Concentrated Treatment for Anxiety Disorders

  • Speaker: Dr Lars-Goran Ost, University of Stockholm
  • Time: 9.30am - 10.30am
  • Venue: 10 West 2.45/46

Wednesday 15 May

Development of multisensory integration across the lifespan

  • Speaker: Meike Scheller, University of Bath
  • Time: 12.15pm - 1.15pm
  • Venue: 10 West 2.47

Contact

For all enquiries