Skip to main content

University of Bath Teachers’ Awards

Celebrating excellent teachers in UK schools and colleges

Celebrating School and College Teachers

Each year The University of Bath Teachers’ Awards recognise and celebrate the important role school and college teachers play in guiding students on their path to university. We’re especially keen to celebrate teachers who work within schools and communities where moving on to university isn’t always seen as a natural ‘next step’.

Each year we invite first-year undergraduates students at Bath, along with all the current sixth form participants in University of Bath Widening Participation programmes (On Track to Bath, Pathway to Bath, Discover Bath, Discover Bath Fast Track) to nominate a teacher for one of our five awards. We love to read every single submission and its heartening to see what an impact teachers have on their students.

A black student with a male teacher holding his green glass apple award. Both are wearing glasses and smiling for the camera.

2020/21 Awards

Thank you to everyone who nominated a teacher for the 2020/21 awards and congratulations to all the nominees. This year we have received more nominations than ever before; this is a reflection on how much students have valued their teachers’ resilience, empathy and adaptability in the face of the COVID pandemic.

As we can't get together to celebrate in person this year, we've put together this short video poem to thank you for what you do, day in day out, not just from us but from them, your students themselves!

The Awards

The University of Bath Teaching Awards are in five categories

  • The Paving the Way Award - for going above and beyond to enable students to progress to University
  • The Nothing’s Impossible Award - for inspiring students to believe in themselves and aim high
  • The Never Alone Award - for outstanding pastoral care and wellbeing support
  • The Lifelong Learning Award - for nurturing talent through exceptional teaching
  • The Lockdown Lifeline Award - for supporting students both academically and emotionally throughout the COVID crisis
A female teacher with an award alongside a female student

2020/21 Shortlisted Teachers

Congratulations to all the staff shortlisted for an award.

A group of photos of the shortlisted teachers
Inspirational Teacher School or College Award Shortlisted for
Alison Wiggins Chace Community School Lifelong Learning Award
Lucy Singleton St Anne's Catholic School and College Lifelong Learning Award Winner
Richard Littlejohn Ysgol John Bright Lifelong Learning Award
Lisa Quéré Windsor girls school Lockdown Lifeline Award
Mike McCormick Cronton Sixth Form College Lockdown Lifeline Award
Samantha Chapman Highcliffe School Sixthform Lockdown Lifeline Award Winner
Elizabeth Reardon Brynteg Comprehensive School Never Alone Award Winner
Jessica Moore The Rochester Grammar School for Girls Never Alone Award
Will Dineley Highdown School & Sixth Form Centre Never Alone Award
Chris Tsannos Hertswood Academy Nothing's Impossible Award Winner
Jonathan Cooper Ysgol Brynhyfryd Nothing's Impossible Award
Martin Thomas Merthyr College Nothing's Impossible Award
Anushka Chakravarty London Academy of Excellence (Stratford) Paving the Way
Gemma Killick Barr Beacon School Paving the Way
Stuart Hoggard Lord Grey Academy Paving the Way Winner

2020/21 Nominations

Congratulations to all the nominated teachers for the 2020/21 awards.

Inspirational Teacher School or College
Alexandre Sabarow Gordons School
Alison Heyman Weston College
Alison Lewis St Ninian's High School
Andrew Ferraris The Tiffin Girls' School
Biagio Forte St Peter's Catholic School
Caroline Hickman Sandwell college
Catherine Knowles The Marlborough C of E School
Chad Moody Ashcroft Technology Academy
Christa Watson Bexhill College
Daniel Bradshaw Hove Park sixth form
Daniel Pearson Robert May’s School
David Spare All Hallows Catholic School Farnham
Declan Kerr Brockenhurst College
Dr J Hansen Wirral Grammar School for Boys
Michael Kearney Bryanston School
Sarah Moore The Abbey School
Jo Cherrett Queen Elizabeth’s
Jo Cummings Fitzalan High School
Joe Bann Durham Johnston Comprehensive School
John Edmiston Chipping Sodbury School
Julie Goodbourn Warwick School
Karen Dawson East Norfolk Sixth Form College
Kate Ball Twynham Sixth Form
Kelly-Marie Hendrick Camborne Science and International Academy (Cornwall School of Maths and Science branch)
Kim Brewer Blackfen school for Girls
Kyle D Evans Barton Peveril Sixth Form College
Lee Moore Gryphon School, Sherborne, Dorset
Liam Fletcher Shireland Collegiate Academy
Louisa Farina Hailsham Community College
Major Adam Vintner The King’s School Canterbury
Marc Davies Ysgol Gyfun Gymraeg Glantaf
Mike puttock The Duston School
Mohammed Jiva Dudley College of Technology
John Owen Downe House School
Mr Moore Hayes Secondary
Richard Jones Lydiard Park Academy
Simon Wilde The Purbeck School
Louise Rodgers Highworth Grammar School
Mrs Perez Tunbridge Wells Girls Grammar School
Ms Wabe Mossbourne Victoria Park Academy, Hackney
Paul Fisher The Portsmouth Grammar School
Rachel Ruzane Woodbridge high school
Regine Matel Nonsuch High School for Girls
Rob Barnard Melksham Oak community school
Sarah Moore Watford Grammar School for Girls
Sharon Stroud Akeley wood school
Susan Driscoll Bournemouth School for Girls
Thomas Cottrell All Hallows Catholic School
Tom Elackman City of Liverpool College
Woody Lewenstein Wren Academy Finchley
Yasmin Skeggs Tendring Technology College

Contact Us

If you have any questions please get in touch with us