• All sessions will take place in the Library. Unless otherwise stated, sessions will take place in either the Level 1 Training Room. Venue information will be confirmed once you have booked your place.
  • You might like to view library presentations that have been delivered to research postgraduates.
  • Doctoral student bookings: If you are a doctoral student you can book the sessions through the DoctoralSkills programme (formerly PGSkills) coordinated by the Doctoral College.
  • Staff Bookings: If you are a member of staff and the course you would like to go on should be listed on the Academic Staff Development site.

Upcoming Sessions are shown below.

Title Date Time
Writing a data management plan for non-sensitive data Monday 9 September 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for sensitive data Tuesday 10 September 10:15 - 12:05
Managing human participant research data Monday 16 September 14:15 - 16:05
Writing a data management plan for non-sensitive data Wednesday 2 October 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for sensitive data Friday 4 October 10:15 - 12:05
Literature and data searching in engineering and design Wednesday 16 October 10:15 - 12:05
Searching for literature in physics and related subjects using INSPEC and SPIE Digital Library Friday 18 October 10:15 - 12:05
Literature searching for business, finance and management Tuesday 22 October 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for non-sensitive data Thursday 24 October 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for sensitive data Friday 25 October 10:15 - 12:05
Finding scientific and engineering data (RP00191) Friday 28 October 10:15 - 12:05
Literature searching: Embase Tuesday 29 October 10:15 - 12:05
Publishing, open access and citations Wednesday 30 October 10:15 - 12:05
Searching for biological sciences literature (was literature searching in biology and biochemistry RP00192) Thursday 31 October 10:15 - 12:05
Archiving, publishing and sharing your research data: human participant data Monday 4 November 10:15 - 12:05
Archiving, publishing and sharing your research data: non-sensitive data Monday 4 November 14:15 - 16:05
ChemDraw: beginners Tuesday 5 November 10:15-11:45
Literature searching: SCOPUS Wednesday 6 November 10:15 - 12:05
Using ORCID Wednesday 6 November 12:15-13:05
Literature searching: Pubmed Thursday 7 November 10:15 - 12:05
ChemDraw: creating biological drawings Friday 8 November 10:15 - 12:05
Literature searching in education: ERIC, BEI and A+ Monday 11 November 10:15 - 12:05
Your PhD and Copyright Tuesday 12 November 10:15 - 12:05
Publishing record: present your strengths Tuesday 12 November 12:15-13:05
Literature searching: Web of Science Wednesday 13 November 10:15 - 12:05
ChemDraw: advanced Thursday 14 November 10:15 - 12:05
Referencing and plagiarism Tuesday 19 November 10:15 - 12:05
SciVal for researchers Tuesday 19 November 12:15-13:05
Using MathSciNet Wednesday 20 November 10:15-11:05
Using ACM Digital Library Wednesday 20 November 11:15-12:05
Literature searching in behavioural science: PsycINFO & PsycEXTRA (RP00140) Thursday 21 November 10:15 - 12:05
Literature searching: Reaxys Tuesday 26 November 10:15 - 12:05
Beyond impact factor: choosing where to publish Tuesday 26 November 12:15-13:05
Reference management software Wednesday 27 November 10:15 - 12:05
Open access: what, why and how? Thursday 28 November 10:15 - 12:05
Introduction to SQL for data manipulation Friday 29 November 10:00 - 14:15
Searching for patent information Tuesday 3 December 10:15 - 12:05
Finding statistics and data in the social sciences Wednesday 4 December 10:15 - 12:05
The 4 Ps of research data management: plan, protect, publish and promote Friday 6 December 10:15-11:45
Managing Your Digital Identity as a Researcher: Strategies and Case Studies Tuesday 10 December 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for non-sensitive data Tuesday 10 December 10:15 - 12:05
Writing a data management plan for sensitive data Wednesday 11 December 10:15 - 12:05
Introduction to R and RStudio for descriptive statistics Wednesday 15 January 10:00-12:30
Managing human participant research data Thursday 16 January 11:15-13:05
R and RStudio for Data Cleaning and Visualisation Wednesday 22 January 10:00-12:30