University of Bath Faculty of Science





Meetin Place Date	g BOARD OF STUDI Council Chamber Wednesday 21 May	ES FOR THE FACULTY OF SCIENCE y 2014 at 14:15
Present	Professor D M Bird Professor S J Bending Mr S Burfiend Dr H R Corradi Professor A Dooley Dr J Doughty Dr G Mathlin Professor E O'Neill Dr J Power Dr S J Roser Dr H Schwetlick Dr D A Taylor Dr N B J Vollaard Professor S G Ward Professor I Williams Professor S Wonnacott	Dean of Science (Chair) Head of Department of Physics Students' Union (SU) Sabbatical Officer (Activities) Department of Biology and Biochemistry Deputy Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences (alternate for Professor I G Graham) Department of Biology and Biochemistry Department of Physics Head of Department of Computer Science Department of Computer Science Chair of the Natural Sciences Programmes Committee Department of Mathematical Sciences Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology (alternate for Professor S G Ward) Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences Head of Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology Department of Chemistry (alternate for Dr A D Burrows) Associate Dean (Graduate Studies)
In attendance	Mrs M Hallett Ms A L Harper	Faculty of Science (Secretary) Faculty of Science (Observer)
Apologies	Mr D J Bence Professor C Bowen Dr A D Burrows Ms S Chordekar Ms E Cradduck Professor M G Davidson Dr M A Freitag Professor I G Graham Mr A Hayes Professor R S G Jones Professor J C Knight Miss R McMahon Professor R J Scott Ms M Woodward	School of Management Faculty of Engineering and Design Department of Chemistry Postgraduate taught student representative Postgraduate research student representative Head of Department of Chemistry Department of Mathematical Sciences Head of Department of Mathematical Sciences Associate Dean (Learning and Teaching), Department of Computer Science Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology Associate Dean (Research) Department of Computer Science (undergraduate student representative) Head of Department of Biology and Biochemistry Learning Partnerships Office

5756 MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The Board approved the minutes of the meeting held on 16 April 2014 (Paper 218) and

there were no matters arising.

5757 CHAIR'S BUSINESS

The Chair brought to the attention of the Board the following matters:

- 1. University teaching awards 2014:
- Dr Christine Edmead, Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, won the Mary Tasker Award to recognise excellence in teaching.
- Dr Peter Mosley, Department of Physics, won the John Willis Award to recognise accomplishment in research combined with a significant contribution to teaching including pastoral support for students and PhD supervision.
- Dr Jane White, Department of Mathematical Sciences, won the Leadership in Learning and Teaching Award.
- 2. Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize 2014:
 - Professor Michael Danson, Department of Biology and Biochemistry, won the University's Excellence in Doctoral Supervision Prize 2014.
- 3. Ede and Ravenscroft Prize 2014:
 - Ed Carter (PhD student), Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, won the Ede and Ravenscroft Prize 2014 to recognise the University's best research student. The Board noted that one of the other four finalists for this award was from the Faculty (Department of Biology and Biochemistry).
- 4. Chancellor's Prize 2014:
 - Cristina Dumitru, Department of Pharmacy and Pharmacology, won the Chancellor's Prize 2014 for the best undergraduate student.
- 5. Bath BP Centurion Award 2014:
 - Jodi Walsh (Department of Physics) and Eleanor Mitchell (Department of Computer Science) won the Bath BP Centurion Award 2014 for academic excellence and contribution to the life, academic reputation and general work of the University.