University of Bath

Equality and Diversity Committee

The Equality and Diversity committee is responsible to Council and Senate for the promotion of equality of opportunity across the university.

The Equality and Diversity Committee is responsible to Council and Senate for the promotion of equality of opportunity across the University. It engages with a wide range of equality and diversity issues affecting both staff and students. Its role is to raise awareness of equality and diversity issues and to develop, evaluate and review University policies, procedures and action plans realating to equality and diversity.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.


    Terms of office expire on 31st July in the year stated.

    Name Position Term of Office
    Mark Humphriss Chair, University Secretary ex-officio
    Richard Brooks Director of Human Resources ex-officio
    Anthony Payne Director of Student Services ex-officio
    Lizzi Milligan and Aurelien Mondon Chair, Equality and Diversity Network ex-officio
    Mike Nicholson Director of Student Recruitment and Admissions ex-officio
    Eve Alcock SU President ex-officio
    Alisha Lobo Su Community Officer ex-officio
    Ruby McGregor-Smith Lay member appointed by Council 2020
    Marion Harney Member appointed by Senate 2020
    Charareh Pourzand Member appointed by the Equality and Diversity Network 2019
    Mandy Wilson-Garner Member nominated by the Students' Union 2020
    Joanna Phillips Elected student representative 2019
    Christopher Lai Elected student representative 2019

    Elected staff representative

    Name Position Term of Office
    Leda Blackwood Education and Research 2021
    Rachel Willis Management, Specialist and Administration 2021
    Cassie Reis Technical and Experimental 2021
    Susan Sutcliffe Operational and Facilities Support 2021

    In attendance:

    Name Position
    Georgina Brown Equality and Diversity Manager


    The term of office for elected and appointed members is three years (renewable), except that for students it is one year (renewable). Up to three co-opted members are permitted, sought on the basis of their expertise in the area and may include members to the university.

Meeting dates and minutes