University of Bath

Psychology Ethics Committee

The committee considers research protocols from staff and students in the Department of Psychology to assess the suitability in terms of research ethics.

This committee broadly follows the British Psychological Society Ethical Guidelines and the Data Protection Act in their consideration of applications for ethical approval. The committee may occasionally raise additional issues for researchers to consider, in the interests of good practice, especially when conducting research with vulnerable groups.

University staff can access related resources for this committee.

The committee is a sub-committee of the University Ethics Committee.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee members

Meeting dates 2018/19

    The committee convenes every month to consider applications for ethical review. Applications must be submitted to the Secretary, Rebecca Wise.

    • Wednesday 12 September2018 (deadline for application submission: Friday 31 August 2018)
    • Wednesday 10 October 2018 (deadline for application submission: Friday 28 September 2018)
    • Wednesday 7 November 2018 (deadline for application submission: Friday 26 October 2018)
    • Wednesday 12 December 2018 (deadline for application submission: Friday 30 November 2018)
    • Wednesday 6 February 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 25 January 2019)
    • Wednesday 6 March 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 22 February 2019)
    • Wednesday 3 April 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 22 March 2019)
    • Wednesday 1 May 2019 (deadline for application submission: Thursday 18 April 2019)
    • Wednesday 5 June 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 24 May 2019)
    • Wednesday 3 July 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 21 June 2019)