Skip to main content
University of Bath

Psychology Ethics Committee

The committee considers research protocols from staff and students in the Department of Psychology to assess the suitability in terms of research ethics.

This committee broadly follows the British Psychological Society Ethical Guidelines and the Data Protection Act in their consideration of applications for ethical approval. The committee may occasionally raise additional issues for researchers to consider, in the interests of good practice, especially when conducting research with vulnerable groups.

University staff can access related resources for this committee.

The committee is a sub-committee of the University Ethics Committee.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee members

Meeting dates 2018/19

    The committee convenes every month to consider applications for ethical review. Applications must be submitted to the Secretary, psychology-ethics@bath.ac.uk

    • Wednesday 5 June 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 24 May 2019)
    • Wednesday 3 July 2019 (deadline for application submission: Friday 21 June 2019)
    • Wednesday 11 September 2019 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 28 August 2019)
    • Wednesday 9 October 2019 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 25 September 2019)
    • Wednesday 6 November 2019 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 23 October 2019)
    • Wednesday 4 December 2019 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 20 November 2019)
    • Wednesday 5 February 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 22 January 2020)
    • Wednesday 4 March 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 19 February 2020)
    • Wednesday 1 April 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 18 March 2020)
    • Wednesday 6 May 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 22 April 2020)
    • Wednesday 3 June 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 20 May 2020)
    • Wednesday 1 July 2020 (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 17 June 2020)

    Committee guidance

    Application forms can be found on the PREC wiki.

    To download these files, you must be connected to the University of Bath network or log in with your University username and password.