University of Bath

Research Ethics Approval Committee for Health (REACH)

The committee considers research protocols from staff and students in the Department for Health to assess the suitability in terms of research ethics.

The Department for Health requires all members of staff and students who are planning research or consultancy projects to consider the ethical implications of the work which they undertake. This is important in all research and consultancy projects but is essential in those projects which involve human participants.

University staff can access related resources for this committee.

The committee is a sub-committee of the University Ethics Committee.

Full responsibilities of the committee are detailed in the terms of reference.

Committee members

Non-university members

    • Mr Peter Hawkes

Meeting dates 2019/20

    The committee convenes every month to consider applications for ethical review. Applications must be submitted to the Secretary.

    • Wednesday 11 September (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 28 August)
    • Wednesday 16 October (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 2 October)
    • Wednesday 13 November (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 30 October)
    • Wednesday 27 November (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 13 November)
    • Wednesday 11 December (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 27 November)
    • Wednesday 8 January (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 19 December)
    • Wednesday 5 February (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 22 January)
    • Wednesday 4 March (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 19 February)
    • Wednesday 1 April (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 18 March)
    • Wednesday 6 May (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 22 April)
    • Wednesday 3 June (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 20 May)
    • Wednesday 8 July (deadline for application submission: Wednesday 24 June)

    Applications received after the submission deadline will be considered at the meeting the following month. Committee comments and decisions are circulated to applicants within one week of a meeting.

    Committee guidance

    All application forms and guidance can be found on the REACH wiki.

    To download these files, you must be connected to the University of Bath network or log in with your University username and password.